Chit chat : Bye Bye Depressing Mood

I could not believe on my self, I have went through almost a month in my new working place. Days are surely passing so fast, with those stress, depress and crazy hectic days, I still there and struggling and working.

weeks ago, I still complained and whining about this crazy work. I was super stress and even lost my appetite, I don’t even able to cover up my gloomy mood so some of fellow co-workers noticed my stress mood in office while at home my parent seems to see Red Signal of me.

I have very serious talked with my friend. She told me, perhaps I have soft to mild depression. She gave me so much advices and I trying to consider what she told me. The best advice is changed the mind set but how to do it? it was my first question when she mentioned about mind set. This kind of thing isn’t something you say it then changed quickly, it needs time and process to accept and to do.

The easiest way to free my self from this stressing job and environment is resign and then seeking new place but does it really best solution for my problems? For me, this alike running away or hiding from the problem as how many from us who able to get perfect job that fit with ourselves, no stress, no pressure, nice coworkers, nice bosses, etc. even if we are the business owner, is there guarantee we won’t work without stress or worries?

My sister told me to re-consider about resign since I still on job training. Her inputs gave me many thoughts such as even this job isn’t something “ends meet” for paying bills or put food on table (as Julie said), but my sis still advice me to hang on. why?
My sis said today is not easy to get job with “proper” payment moreover there are still lots of people outside there are facing more pressure than I had or they even need to struggle as if their live at the edge. One of the biggest super market in my town went bankrupt and laid off hundreds of employees, others big company doing the downsizing in order to maintain the business stability. On the surface, her words mean about financial crisis but actually she tried to tell me, human is unique because no matter how hardship we face, there will always solution for it, time is the key. God never give more than his creature able to handle, if HE did, HE will have showed the way so we able to keep moving on.

My department is the worst one compare to others department in company where I work right now. the turned over is the highest, too many people in and out within a year. Two days ago, other fellow co-worker was in process of resign. She have worked one year and several months, almost two years. I asked her why she leaving? she said, she tired enough for these hectic days. And then, I asked her she has been there for sometimes how could she not able to stay longer, since she should get use with those stuffs. She said, her limit has came to the end and time has arrived for her to leave or perhaps she might go insane. I wonder, under this kind of condition, how suppose I encourage myself everything will be fine for me?

While another co-worker who has worked for more than three years told me, things would get better as time passes, just see him as example. he able to work years in such environment. So, it really help me to re-think and re-consider everything regarding my new job.

One important lesson I got from both of them, everyone has unique way to deal with stress, pressure and work-load. One gave up not because she is loser but she has struggled and yet she had met her limit while the other one still hang on there not because he is better than the other but he still struggling and able to manage or deal with the condition.

This post isn’t simply about my chit chat or whining or complaining about my new job but more to share my personal experienced and thought. I do feel during the process, I grow little bit as adult😛

Let me know what you guys think about this post. does any of you are struggling with your job? or how you view your job and it influence toward your life?

Much Love


  1. juli · May 24, 2015

    Dear Azzuro….my advice is for you to give yourself more time at your new work place. You are still under training n try to learn not to make the same mistake that your colleague who’s resigning made…Believe in yourself n try to be somebody who is always willing to learn n not afraid of challanges…..
    Finally…thank you for all your translation projects that has brougt much joy to me n others who love chinese novels but are not literate in the language….be strong n God bless….

    • azurro4cielo · May 25, 2015

      Hi Juli,
      Thanks for your advice, it means so much.
      You are right about willingness to learn and taking challenge.
      That’s why I still struggling to fight with the pressure, workload, high demanded supervisor and etc.

  2. Rara · May 25, 2015

    Hi Azzuro,, keep fighting, cause I think u can do it and its okay to complaning better than you keep inside.. For me, my job like adventure.. hahaha.. Cause, I learn and meet new person.. I don’t lie sometimes it make me stress, but when I feel stress I will drink ice coffee or green tean and some chocolate.. Maybe you can try.. Hehehe.. I just want to say don’t give up and keep positive thinking..
    And, I also want to say thanks for your hard work in translation. It my pleasure can read your translation..
    Have a nice day and God Bless you..

    • azurro4cielo · May 25, 2015

      Thanks Rara for the encouragement and also the suggestion. Personally I like green tea so much and so does with chocolate. Matcha and dark chocolate are my fave😉

  3. humbledaisy1 · May 25, 2015

    Hi Azzuro – I would also recommend giving yourself time to settle into your new workplace. Sometimes, waiting it out is the best option. But – it you are suffering at work, try very hard to make some quiet or relaxing time at home. I developed a jaw problem once at a job (from gritting my teeth too much!) but relaxing with family or reading, etc. helped a lot. I was lucky to learn how to knit during this time and while the bad job is long gone, my love of knitting remains. Perhaps you have some thing you can lose yourself in? Also, thanks again for the time you spend on translating – I enjoy it very much.

    • azurro4cielo · May 25, 2015

      Hi humbledaisy,
      I agreed about giving time for myself.
      It will be so good if I able to make time for doing fun things everyday. I still have problem wth time management.

  4. yuna · May 25, 2015

    Hmm. I think that u really have to rethink about the resigning… If u are leaving now. I think u will give a bad impression to others since u are new … But if u don’t mind others think about you. U can resign. But u have to be accepted in another job first before u are resign…
    Its not easy to get job…
    I recently graduate and now looking for my first job ..
    And you know that its pretty hard to get job.. I’m still unemploy. Heheh

    (ง!`☐´)ง (ง!`☐´)ง
    Fighting. Life is good

    • azurro4cielo · May 25, 2015

      Of course I knew very well how job hard to get,
      I even got rejected for ridiculous excuses. But I am so fortunate compare to others because I have supportive family and fellow friends whether in 2D or 3D life.
      Thank for your comment, it makes my day.
      I hope you get job soon ^-^
      Get a job that fit you🙂

  5. momomomo01 · May 25, 2015

    This is my point of view and from my own experience:
    We spend more time at work than at home and we see our colleuges more often than our families. Therefore I think it’s important to work at a place you find is enjoyable. It is hard to try to balance your mood with family and friends, when the part that makes you feel depressed takes most of your time in life.

    When I was younger and fresh out of university, I got really depressed from my first jobs due to my inexperience with work. But it turned out better efter approximately 3 months and I got more experience from that time.
    But there was once a job that felt bad right from the beginning and I stayed there for only 9 months. I learned that if you feel down because of the work and insecurity due to inexperience, then try to hold out and make it better.
    But if you feel down due to reasons you cannot affect with your own hard work, then I consider you should look for another job. Life is too short to feel miserably every day at work.

    Hope this gave you some insight and you find some strenght in making your decision. Take some time and analyze if your problem at work is something with your influence can be better.

    Hope you will feel better soon.

  6. Julie · May 26, 2015

    Dear Azurro,

    My only advice that I can partake to you right now is always put your focus on God, no one else but God. Do not looked either to the right nor left but always straight away onto Jesus for Him to guide you through.

    Whenever I go through hard time where work is concerned, I always meditate on this verse

    Roman 8:31b :If God is for you Azurro, who can be against you?”

  7. chang'er · May 26, 2015

    Hello Azurro,

    I came upon this post and felt compelled to respond. Thank you so much for sharing your burden. It must have been really difficult for you recently. I don’t have much advice, however, I will share some things in which I hope will be an encouragement to you.

    In Phil 4:11-13, Paul states “Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity.. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” And this is coming from one who has been stoned, persecuted, sought out, been in prison..and eventually killed. But yet, he was able to find content and joy in his circumstances. As you have mentioned, he will not give you a trial that cannot be overcome.

    You are also correct to say that you need to change your mindset. 1 Tim 6:6-8 states “But godliness is a means of great gain when accompanied by contentment. For we have brought nothing into the world, so we cannot take anything out of it either. If we have food and covering, with these we shall be content.” I have gone through jobs were I will be grumbling and complaining because of the supervisors, the lack of support, the crazy workload (really, we could complain about so many things), however, when I consider that I am working hard unto the Lord, then my focus is pointed back to the God is Faithful and Lord of my life. If He is the Sustainer, Redeemer, and Giver of Life, and all works of this life is His, my focus is brought back to the fact that my labor is not for my supervisor, but for God who gave me the job. For God knows that I am working to the best of my ability and he is the ultimate judge. If your supervisor is mean or have wronged you, God knows. Isn’t He Faithful?

    Don’t be discouraged Azurro. If after some time you still find this job unsuitable and that your grumbling is increasing rather than decreasing, then I will suggest you look into other employment. It’s not shameful or irresponsible to do that at the right time after much prayer and you have a job lined up. It is also true that you spend most of your time at work and it will not be profitable at all for your soul if all you do is complain and be discontent. Irresponsibility is when you quit based on emotions where you don’t give your job any notice or when you need the income and have no job lined up or when you have no plan for the future. Therefore, seek His wisdom for your course of life, for the mind of man plans his ways, but the Lord directs his steps. Remember to pray, pray, and pray. Pray for peace, pray for comfort, pray for direction, pray for contentment, pray for strength. Keep praying and through it, you will definitely find a change in your mindset.

    “May the Lord bless you, and keep you. May the Lord make His face shine on you, and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up His countenance on you, and give you peace.” Num 6:24-26

Touch the heart by words

