Diary · Interest

Vegetarian : It’s a Choice

I’m very excited about this post. recently, I’m having problem about my eat pattern such as: taking so much meat, junk food, oily food and many more which seems to be very tasty but bad for body (yeak).

What a ridiculous about “Vegetarians or vegetarianism” which defined by some of people I know (one of them, my mom). I really want to laugh first time when I told my mom about my will to be Vegetarian. Mom asked, was I decided to be nun? when telling her being  vegetarian. I can understand of my mom thought about my decision to be vegetarian because 以前 (back then, especially for Chinese who is Buddhist), being vegetarian only for those who decided to leave worldly life as nun or Bhante (in Mahayana tradition).

Honestly, I never thought to be “real vegetarian” since I love KFC, Pizzas, french fries, chicken wings and others exclude vegetable. About five years ago when doctor suggest me to eat vegetable, fruit and avoid meat oily food. Suddenly, I thought dome was coming since I love everything about meat (meat eater ahahahahaha) due to my health issue, the obesity and risk of heart disease.

Three years being vege which I hate most, eating vegetable, fruit and everything that far for meat, I thought I wasn’t human anymore but more like goat, lamb or any herbivore animals. Every day of my three years life like hell and thinking when I could end my vegetarian life.

After loss about half of my weight and reach “normal” weight, finally my doctor said I could eat meat but in small amount. I was so happy, thinking I could eat my favorite meal such as french fries with fried chicken and mayonnaise. But somehow, my body resist to eat and everything smells meat except milk and egg.

My mom thought I need to adapt after my success diet, back to my old eat pattern. she cooked many dish and my favorite menu after green light from doctor to consume meat back.

I tried to explain to mom, vegetarian is life style, it my choice nothing to do with others such as religion, even I’m buddhist but, more to I want to persist, maintain this life style. I feel much happier when I get used to eat vege and fruit even the first time was tough.

Through my post, I want to share how I gain so many benefit as vegetarian, eating only vegetable and fruit. I have better life by appreciate every moment I have in my life, more tolerance, respect life and my life easier and simple enough.

I don’t think become vegetarian should be deal with religion stuffs which most of time people misunderstand. I have christian friend who vegetarian since five.

Touch the heart by words