Drama

C-Drama Review: Children’s Hospital Pediatrician 儿科医生

Children’s Hospital Pediatrician might be the second China drama with occupation genre especially Doctors which watched by me within this year. After last time, I watched Surgeons starring Jin Dong.

One thing that caught my attention in this drama perhaps the actor, Leo Luo Yun Xi. I saw him first time in You Are My Sunshine/Silent Separation (何以笙箫默 ) played as Younger He Yi Chen. Speak frankly, I didn’t pay attention to him, because I just anticipated Wallace Cheung LOLS.

Let’s start~

The story is about stubborn female lead, Tang Yu Jia (Sun Yi) who just graduated from medical school as newbie and training doctor in Children’s Hospital. She dreamt to be famous and skillful pediatrician specialized in Surgery. At her first day she was coming late moreover her advisor is someone strict called as Doctor Ye Mei. At same time, Tang Yu Jia also met an introvert collages who working together with her under Doctor Ye Mei, Qi Xing (Zhang Ying).

Sun Yi as Tang Yu Jia

Actually Tang Yu Jia wanted to station in Surgery department and planned to work together with her boyfriend and very soon be her husband, Doctor Shen Ke who actually her senior brother that she has been dating in University. Many things happened since Tang Yu Jia joined Children’s Hospital as one of the pediatric.

Luo Yun Xi as Shen Ke

This drama not only told about cases that daily faced by Pediatrician, not only love story between Tang Yu Jia with Shen Ke or Ye Mei with Chu Zi Jian who were couple when studying in Medical university until they joined Children Hospital, two of them separated. But also friendships and also bonds that built between Doctors and Patients.

Things that gave me deep impression was when the Vice Head of Hospital Doctor Zhong injured by one of the patient’s family that wanted to give trouble to the hospital, said something so touching. She said that she is so proud to be working as Doctors for thirty six years, first twenty six years joining the pediatric team, she also has been treating many children, giving them future and getting so much honor of it, she really proud of it. Actually the relationship between Doctors and Patients are alike teeth and lips, but within these years they keep on getting scolds and also blames, but why, patience, either Doctors or patients because of the huge pressure of life have been losing the patience. In this modern world there are more than three thousand types of sickness, 1/3 of it is already able to be cured, but there are still 2/3 sickness that cannot be cured by doctors. Doctors only can give it try. The misunderstanding between doctors and patients, actually the one who hurt the most is the patient, it is only small part of people who be benefiting of it. If the doctors, nurses and the medical staffs being doubted, scolded then leaving their station, then who will cure the sickness of these patients? these children?

Then at the moment when Doctor Zhong asked all the doctors, nurses and also the medical staffs to say their oath. Somewhat that scene moist my eyes. I almost cried.

Here is the full text of the Oath (resource: Refworld.com, Quote from Appendix 4 of No. 106 Document, issued by High Education Dept. of Nation’s Education Committee)

I will dedicate myself to medicine with love for my motherland and loyalty to the people.

I will scrupulously abide by medical ethics, respect my teachers and discipline myself.

I will strive diligently for the perfection of technology and for all-round development of myself.

I’m determined to strive diligently to eliminate human suffering, enhance human health conditions and uphold the chasteness and honor of medicine.

I will heal the wounded and rescue the dying, regardless of the hardships.

I will always be in earnest pursuit of better achievement. I will work all my life for the development of the nation’s medical enterprise as well as humankind’s physical and mental health.

Touch the heart by words