Drama

C-Drama Review: Beyond Light Years (初遇在光年之外)

I was thinking what kind of story Beyond Light Years could offer, at first time when I spotted this Chinese Drama. Moreover, in this drama there are many new faces that I never seen before except for Chen Ruo Xuan. I was too craving to watch something like Love 020 starring Zheng Shuang and Yang Yang, perhaps I hasn’t moved on LOLS.

So….

Beyond Light Years is Chinese Drama Chen Ruo Xuan, Xu Jiao, Zhu Ran, Zhang Yi. The story is started when Xia Xiao Ci (Xu Jiao), a freshmen of Yan Qing University, an ordinary girl who likes to read and write novel especially martial art genre met Lu Yu Chen. Lu Yu Chen (Chen Ruo Xuan) is an IT student who is quite popular in Yan Qing university. Lu Yu Chen cold personality meets with Xia Xiao Ci sunshine personality on her first day in school, leading to many misunderstandings down the line before they eventually work together to tackle college life and troubles. She finally publishes her novel, while he’s successful in his career.

Story Plot, Characters:

The drama itself actually has youth-romance genre which quite common moreover the drama itself tried to portray group of youngster who wanted to find themselves but adding game aspect inside it, perhaps it can pull the drama and offer something fresh. Although the story little bit dragging and few times, skipped by me, actually the way they filmed itquite okay, although it didn’t exceed my expectation but it also not bad.

Truth to be told, I’m not interested with the male lead, Lu Yu Chen (Chen Ruo Xuan) character because although he is genius gamer, IT Department prodigy but somewhat his character is too boring. On the opposite way, I prefer the second male lead character, Zhen Xing played by Zhu Ran, a newbie actor. For me, Zhen Xing character is more realistic because Zhen Xing has too many flaws.

 

Actors and Actresses:

As I mentioned, this drama has few newbie such as Xu Jiao and Zhu Ran. Although Chen Ruo Xuan has been acting in several dramas but for me he stills newbie. All of the actresses and actors are not bad, their acting so presentable and watchable moreover most of them are so new.

Just as what I said, I am so interested with the second male both Zhen Xing, this character and Zhu Ran, the actor. Zhen Xing character has so many flaws which so realistic but things that surprised me more actually the actor, Zhu Ran. As newbie (Beyond Light Years is his first drama) Zhu Ran acting can be said better than average.

At same time, I found the chemistry between Xia Xiao Ci and Zhen Xing are more adorable compare to Xia Xiao Ci and Lu Yu Chen.

Zhu Ran as Zhen Xing

To sum up, the story is not bad. I like the story flow (even few episodes can be so dragging) and also friendship that built through playing game. I also like the progress that made by every characters, especially Lu Yu Chen and Xia Xiao Ci. Although Zhu Ran isn’t the male lead but as second male but I think he has stolen the spotlight through his acting.

3 thoughts on “C-Drama Review: Beyond Light Years (初遇在光年之外)

Touch the heart by words