Drama · Interest

First Impression C-Drama: Moonshine And Valentine (結愛 千歲大人的初戀)

What will happen when Fox-alien falls in love with human? Moreover if the Fox-alien keeps on falling in love with the same person for thousand years over and over again? Well, this is kind of the story that offered by Moonshine And Valentine which starring Victoria Song and Jhonny Huang.

Currently I have been watching first four episodes and surprisingly I enjoyed the drama even I bit hesitated at the start. To be honest, I wasn’t sure going to watch Moonshine and valentine AKA The Love Knot: His Excellency’s First Love (結愛 千歲大人的初戀) at the time I knew Victoria Song would be the female lead. Let’s put aside about me being biased, although I am not Victoria Song’s fan but I don’t hate her, I listened to her song when F(X) still active. Personally, I really think that Victoria Song really such lacking in acting skill, she just as worst as Angelababy but somewhat both of them are so lucky because they keep on getting good project as well good co-actors who have such good acting skills.

But, after checked few episodes, I am so rest assured to keep on watching this drama because Victoria Song’s acting did improve. At least she isn’t as bad as the first time I watched her in When Love Walked In which such tormenting and finally decided to drop it although I like Calvin Chen and Zhou Mi.

The first episode was started with scene in the ancient time, a girl named Hui Yan heard her parent conversation that wanted to marry her to someone who coming from wealthy family but Hui Yan’s mother little bit hesitated to marry her daughter because she still so young. After being ensured by Hui Yan’s father her mother finally agreed.

Then the story moved to older Hui Yan and then the narrator told the story about the Fox-alien which coming to earth and called themselves as Fox Clan also their relationship with human since the ancient time.

Although there hasn’t many scenes in ancient time, honestly I like the younger actress more than Victoria. Also my favorite supporting actors, Li Shen and Li Jia Ming who played as Xiu Xian and Kuang Yong, these two always bickering each other and going everywhere together while company He Lan Jing (Huang Jing Yu/Jhonny Huang).

Have you watched this drama? Tell me your opinion ^-^

16 thoughts on “First Impression C-Drama: Moonshine And Valentine (結愛 千歲大人的初戀)

  1. I am watching this show – some parts are very interesting (I can’t wait to find out the reasons for the curse!) and some not so much. I think Our Heroine must be completely blind to not see how her “boyfriend” is treating her. But I do like her other friends. I agree that the younger actors really are charming! So let’s hope the story stays strong . . .

  2. I can’t stand Angelababy and Victoria Song their acting skill is barely there lol. Pretty sure they’re only getting good projects due to fame and business deals. I wish China would promote real talent instead of fame and connections. Anyways, I couldn’t bare to watch this drama after the first episode because she was so bad and stiff (like usual) lol.

      1. It’s just so disappointing that more promising actresses don’t get good projects but those who sucks keeps getting projects which they make it become mediocre. The Asian entertainment business sucks.

  3. Yess i watch it … same i was hesitate 1st to watch this coz victoria … but after 4 eps i like the story a specialy the younger huiyan and a shi they interaction so cute… i hope see more the younger story in the future… also the trio of fox clan really fun to watch

  4. I’m enjoying the drama too! Victoria’s acting skills is not as bad as her previous works, thankfully. It’s bearable I would say. I like the plot as for now and I really enjoy watching the younger counterparts and the side stories (Helan’s followers Xiu Xian & Kuang Yong, Qian Hua and her cafe friend, which I forgot the name..)

  5. As all the previous commentors have said, a drama starring Victoria song didn’t make me want to watch it. She has improved but this is based on her being cast with talented actors and actresses . They seem to pull her along with them. The story almost seems like it is about the best friend and her “want to have” lover. Their reasons for not telling her about their feelings appears to be more so about them losing face than breaking her heart.I like premise of this story so I will continue with it. I just finished episode 8. I’m looking forward to see how the betrayal of Qian Hua plays out in the next episodes. She knows all of He lan’s secrets.

  6. I love this drama but Victoria Song is like a gaping black hole in it. Her character is written poorly but she makes it worse. Mealy mouthed, slow in talking, walking, everything. Exaggerated in everything.
    Victoria Song makes the character so unappealing! I feel sorry for the male lead that he’s opposite such a stick of wood. I actually fast forward when she comes on the screen or I have to cringe while she does her thing.
    I didn’t realize she was this bad, I saw her in Ice Fantasy but maybe acting skills weren’t needed there.
    The rest of the cast shines, perhaps that is why her lack of acting skill stands out even more.

  7. I just started recently due to recommendation by my friend and also thanks to Azurro’s review. Don’t know who Victoria is and this is my first time seeing all the group of actors and actresses.
    This kinda of genre drama about fox-human and human is usually not my type of drama to watch as I always find it complicating and not realistic. But I must say that this drama caught my interest from episode 1 itself 😍
    Of course my fav is Li Jia Ming aka Kuang Yong especially the part where Guan Si Si nearly dies after kissing Helan and he had to rescue her in the hospital. He was so cool the way he remained calm yet quick on his hand looking for the syringe and medicine.
    Thank you so much for the recommendation.

    1. Victoria was F(x) member, the korean girlband from SM.
      She was one group with Sulli, Krystal (Jessica Girl generation’s younger sister), amber…
      Quite famous before.

      1. Ya I heard from my girlfriend when I shared this drama to her as my friend is SM fans 😅 I don’t follow the young groups… I prefer matured ones like Shinhwa, Fly To The Sky etc 😀

Touch the heart by words