Drama

Quick Review : Chinese And Korean Drama

There are many dramas that I want to watch, some even have been listing in my watching list because its eye-catching promotional posters, the synopsis, actors and actresses. Here I share my quick reviews for some of them.

Let’s start with the Historical Ancient Genre

Untouchable Lover (凤囚凰)

This is drama that adapted from novel with same title, The Tale Of Two Phoenixes written by Wu Yi You Feng, cast Guan Xiao Tong, Song Wei Long, Bai Lu, Mi Re, Zhao Lu Si and many more even Vivian Zhang did cameo. So, this story is about Princess Shan Yin, Liu Chu Yu who like to gather Mian Shou (Beautiful men) and also her brother Liu Zi Ye well-known as violent and short tempered King. If in the novel this story is about time-travel while the drama, Princess Shan Yin has twins sister named Liu Chu Xiu who being abandoned when she was baby.

Due to some circumstances, Liu Chu Xiu should have replaced her twins sister place and become Princess Shan Yin after Liu Chu Yu died. She also get closed to Rong Zhi, one of Chu Yu’s Mian Shou whom real Chu Yu trusted.

Personally, the first ten episodes were so boring, had skipped many until I reached to the episode in which both Rong Zhi and Chu Yu lost their memory and then meeting again as wife and husband through the political marriage. Although it ended happily but somewhat I don’t feel satisfied. But, I do find few actors and actresses that caught my attention such as Zhang Yi Jie who played as Liu Zi Ye, Zhao Lu Si as Ma Xue Yun, Bai Lu as General Huo Xuan and Le Yun.

 

The Flame’s Daughter (烈火如歌)

I had expected this drama for long time because I read many good review about its novel. Moreover I sold because of the actors and actresses. This drama got Dilraba and Vin Zhang and also Vic Zhou to be the main characters plus Liu Rui Lin. Beside actors and actresses, this drama filmed beautifully even Vic just totally looked ageless just as the first time when I saw him in Meteor Garden. As for the story, I can’t say that I love it because for 52 episodes, this drama bit draggy for me.

The Modern

The Negotiator (談判官)

This drama cast Yang Mi, Dylan Guo and TAO Huang Zi Tao (Ex-EXO). This story is about Tong Wei (Yang Mi) who work as negotiator, Qin Tian Yu (Dylan Guo) as famous lawyer, Tong Wei’s best friend and also Xie Xiao Fei (TAO) an ABC who trying to prove himself to his wealthy father that he also can do something serious other than fooling around.

Alike few people, I have thought Negotiator as Interpreter sequel but actually I was wrong. This drama is totally different and doesn’t has any relation with it. It’s only the ‘format’ that looked similar after all it is about profession. Well, I don’t try to make comparison because I don’t even watch Interpreter.

Personally I like TAO’s acting moreover the chemistry between he and Yang Mi looked so surreal. In this drama, Xie Xiao Fei, this character is imperfect, flaws but because of these things, somewhat Xie Xiao Fei looked so real to me. I had enjoyed the show especially Tong Wei-Xie Xiao Fei moment. They bickering, the sweetness as couple and also their arguments. As for the story, I just enjoyed the show.

 

Love’s Lies (真愛的謊言之破冰者)

Because of the package that sent by courier, Tan Dou Dou (Pan Zhi Lin) chased by Qiao Liang (Cao Zheng) a police officer from Beijing to Haibin for the ownership of drugs which later she knew that was sent by her boyfriend who has gone missing for seven years, Jin Yuan (Luo Jin). Briefly this drama is about things that seen is not always as how its surface also there is no absolute in black and white.

This drama isn’t typical everyone’s cup of tea but personally I like this drama from the start to the end because I got to feel the suspense, the intrigue and even the romance although it bit vague and OE. To be honest, I dislike Tan Dou Dou, this character but weirdly Tan Dou Dou just suit so well with Jin Yuan character thus I don’t have any problem with this drama.

 

Never Gone (好久不见)

I don’t know what I have expected from this drama. At the beginning, I just felt so excited to watch Yang Zi Shan and Zheng Kai. For me, Never Gone is kind of dog-blood drama, boring and I not even stand until end because it was too boring for me. Thus, I just stopped at twenty something when He Yan (Zheng Kai)’s father divorced his mother after caught having an affair with Duo Duo (Yang Zi Shan)’s best friend.

 

Tree in The River (動物系戀人啊)

Starring Mike He Jun Xiang, Gillian Cheung, Zhang Rui Jia. This drama shouldn’t be any bad right? Chu Zi He (Gillian) is a woman who similar to squirrel. She likes romantic things despite her mature age, she is alike an innocent woman such cute like coquettish squirrel. Wang Da Shu (Mike) is such similar to giraffe, he likes to plan before hand. Both fall in love, dating, married and then divorce. All of things happened such instant and within a year.

This perhaps is one of the drama that has such fast-pace. Everything start and end right away within ten episodes (Wang Da Shu met Chu Zhi He, reminiscing about their school time because both of them are schoolmate then dating and then married soon divorce).

As I remember I stopped at episode 10 thus I don’t know how it’s end after all I don’t get any interested with the drama.

Korean Drama

Pretty Noona Who Buys Me Food (Something In The Rain 밥 잘 사주는 예쁜 누나)

This drama had taken many eyes’ attention even when they only announced Jung Hae In would be taken the male lead followed with its beautiful promotional poster of Jung Hae In and Son Ye Jin, alike many K-lover, I did put high expectation for this drama after Jung Hae In’s previous drama.

Recently Noona-Dongsaeng love story is quite popular no wonder this drama tried to get the momentum. It seems the rating for this drama was doing quite well . I have been watching until episode 11 and finally I decided to take break from this drama because I was feeling so frustrated with the characters. I don’t see any improvement in the characters instead everything just stuck. I don’t whether I’m going to continue or just drop this drama.

My Contracted Husband, Mr. Oh (My Husband Oh Jak Do 데릴남편 오작두)

Han Seung-Joo (Uee) is a single woman in her mid 30’s and she works as a PD at a broadcasting station. She does well at her job, but she is not nearly as good when it comes to housework. Han Seung-Joo has a hard time dealing with social prejudices about single women. To get the position of a “married woman,” Han Seung-Joo marries Oh Jak-Doo (Kim Kang-Woo) who lives in the mountain. Their marriage is not based on love, but their relationship develops romantically. (Wiki)

I like the drama concept instead of a rich man bumped into ordinary girl, offering a marriage contract, this drama looked fresh for me because this drama just in diverse. The development of their relationship was okay but the earlier episodes but somewhat after more chapters, I just couldn’t stand both characters pulled-pushed manner. Haven’t finished this drama because I just stuck at episode 12 after skipping few times.

Have you watched some or all of these dramas? Share your opinion in comment box.

7 thoughts on “Quick Review : Chinese And Korean Drama

  1. I didn’t enjoy any of the Chinese dramas on this list. I thought The Flame’s Daughter was poorly done in terms of plot and story development it couldn’t convince me to watch more after episode 14. Yang Mi I am not a fan so I passed on this one. And the rest wasn’t entertaining me enough to keep going. I do have high expectations so it’s typical to not find a drama too likable lol. I’m waiting on Ruyi’s Love In The Palace, Destiny of The White Snake, Heavy Snow Ash-like Frost, The Legend of Yunxi, and some other Chinese and Korean dramas I can’t think of right now haha.

  2. There’s a nice chinese and korean
    Like genral and i
    jornye of flower
    Goblen
    Now im watching school 2017
    I think i’ll watch one drama from your list azurto tell me which one to start with ?

Touch the heart by words