Drama · Interest

C-Web Drama First Impression: False Phoenix (假凤虚凰)

I had watched few dramas in which the Female lead pretending to be boy and put herself into awkward situation with the Male lead. For example: Hanakimi (Japanese, Korean and Chinese), then You’re beautiful (Korean and Chinese), even the quirky one such as Proud of Love (Tong Meng Shi and Vivian Sung got body swipe) but something like False Phoenix is little bit different because both of the leads are hiding their real genre. False Phoenix is web drama based on novel with same title written by Ye Xiao.

Let’s start with the synopsis:

The Prince of Great Xuan, Ye Qing Ge (Zhao Yu Xi) and the princess of Bei Chu, Su Yu (Liu Ji Kai) become wife and husband in order to be alliance, but both of them have secret that couldn’t be said to anyone. At the beginning this pair of couple started their relationship as quarrelsome lovers, Prince of Great Xuan is well-known as chicken-heart thus no one doubted if Prince Manor is taken control by Su Yu, the princess of Bei Chu. 

Ye Qing Ge and Su Yu are liking to torture each other, then gradually both of them have feeling to each other. These two already had complicated relation after all the Ye Qing Ge is a woman while Su Yu is a man. When Xie Qing Yun (Dong Zi Ming), Ye Qing Ge childhood sweet heart appeared, this couple relationship getting become complicated more.

Beside this triangle love, the politics in two countries, the fight of interest for the throne and power as well the hatred from the before generation. All of these brought Ye Qing Ge and Su Yu’s relationship into next level.

My Impression:

From the way they filmed the drama, I could assume this drama has quite low budget but the actors and actresses didn’t act poorly at least it passable for me. In session one, they did the makeup so poorly, gladly slightly better in session two.

The story plot is weird and yet they have many hilarious scenes at least which make this drama much better. As for the actors and actresses, their acting isn’t bad.

I just finished watching two sessions out from three, and it is getting better thus I will continue session three in order to know how this drama going to end.

Have you watched this drama or read its novel? Share your opinion in comment box.

9 thoughts on “C-Web Drama First Impression: False Phoenix (假凤虚凰)

  1. I will check this one out later. Azzuro if you have time can you do a review for Lady Meng is Here/Meng Fei Comes Across–Meng Fei Jia Dao (萌妃駕到) it looks entertaining and funny to watch. 😊😊😊

  2. I watched just the first season / session and found it very funny. The most hilarious for me were scenes portraying the inner thoughts of the Prince of Great Xuan, Ye Qing Ge. However there were also some sad scenes.
    Thank you for this post with a review. I’m looking forward for your impressions about the ending of this C-web drama, because I could not find English subbed version.

  3. Thank you Azurro for your review. I’ve completed season 1 and 2, that had a disturbing ending, so now I’m very curious what will happen next. Do you know where I can watch the third season?

  4. Were you able to watch the 2nd season in English, if so where did you watch it, and if not can you tell me what is going on? because I watched it but I am very confused on what’s going on.

Touch the heart by words