Drama · Interest

C-Drama Review: Mad House – The Classification of Spirit (疯人院 I)

Mad House – The Classification Of Spirit is one of Chinese Web-series recently done watching by me. To be honest I don’t know how to call this drama genre because from its poster it seemed to be something creepy and also it has a very kind of gloomy, horror, suspense, thrilling, and  sci-fic feeling, all in one. Though this isn’t my cup of tea (judging from the posters) and strangely, out of all those ‘giving goose bump’ thingy, this drama madly addictive. Starring Liu Chang, Lu Shan, Qin Yu, and Yang Xin Ming. 

So the story started when Meng Nan (Liu Chang), the member of an organization which focused on doing research about human special ability from overseas got a mission to find someone who has special illness. Due to this mission Meng Nan came to one of the madhouse which located inside isolated mountain. He is not only visited the madhouse but he became one of the trainee doctor in that madhouse.

As the journey, Meng Nan would meet many people and even his future lover, Mu Si Fan (Lu Shan) whom also the trainee doctor. Using his special ability and also with the help of medicine, Meng Nan able to see through things and people’s mind and what they thought by touching the object.

My Verdict:

This is my first time to watch something like this drama, something dark, very horror alike ghost story, thrilling filled with many suspense which able increased your adrenaline at any times, and the most important I was so clueless about the story plot when started the first episode, but strangely it is addictive. Again, although this drama isn’t my cup of tea but I was so enjoying every stories it presented. To be honest, I kind of confusing how to describe this drama but for sure this drama impressed me in positive way.

The way they filmed is far better compare to other web-dramas that looked so low-budgeted. The lighting also not bad which able to give better watching experience. Although out of all the stars, I did recognize Liu Chang and Yang Xin Ming while others just looked so new for me. I’m not a fan of Liu Chang and at same time, I didn’t find his acting impressive (Whether in King’s women, Where Winter is Warm, where summer is cool). But, in this web drama, his acting seemed to be improved lots. I am enjoyed his character as Meng Nan, the persistent, logical but sometimes can be so impulsive with his decision.

More pictures below:

Have you watched it? Share your thought in the comment box 🙂

Touch the heart by words