Drama · Interest

Review C-Drama: Le Coup de Foudre (我只喜欢你)

Le Coup De Foudre is another drama that adapted from novel titled, I Don’t Like The World, I Only Love You written by Qiao Yi. Starring Janice Wu Qian and Zhang Yu Jian, no wonder Le Coup De Foudre became one of the most expected youth drama for this year.

Synopsis (credit to viki):

Zhao Qiao Yi and Yan Mo may have been high school classmates but the only thing they had in common was the desk they shared in class. One a top student, the other failing miserably, these two couldn’t have been more different and yet, it doesn’t take long for a strong bond to form between them.

Promising to study abroad together after high school, this unlikely pair seems to have the world before them. But when an unexpected family emergency forces Qiao Yi to back out on their plans the two drift apart and eventually lose touch.
Four years later, the long-lost friends are reunited and old flames are quickly rekindled. Finally willing to accept her feelings for Yan Mo, Qiao Yi moves to the city, determined to pick things up where they left off all those years ago; but with Yan Mo already in a relationship, Qiao Yi’s love seems destined to fail. But is it really?

Unbeknownst to Qiao Yi, Yan Mo hasn’t forgotten his old friend, nor the feelings he has for her. Unable to express those feelings, Yan Mo chooses to keep his actions and his feelings a secret. Always moving in the background, he works tirelessly to take care of his high school friend; but how long will he be able to keep this up before she realizes the truth?

The Story Plot

Personally I don’t have any problem with the flash-back, forward story telling style, only if you find some scene bored, it hard to skip because you may hard to connect the story. To be honest, I was kind of boring in the beginning episodes but as gone, each episodes are getting better.

My likes and dislikes:

My Likes

My first reason to pick and watch this drama because the actors and actresses, especially Janice Wu. I have set my eyes on her since the first time I saw her playing younger Zhao Mo Sheng. Janice Wu has natural acting style.

This drama has quite unique characters. In the beginning you might have thought the female lead as someone silly (傻白甜) but in my point of view she isn’t. She loves the male lead although she doesn’t stay with male lead, and yet she can live well. That’s why this character looked more realistic and close to reality.

I like Zhao Qiao Yi’s older brother, Zhao Guan Chao. He may bad lover but he is type of best big brother you may wish to have. From outside Zhao Guan Chao seems to be someone who bit ‘unreliable’ due to his playboy nature (he can flirt to every women he meets). But as big brother he really protects Zhao Qi Yi very well.

My Dislikes

The transition of the scene from present, flash back and future are bit not smooth in my opinion. To be honest, it bit hard for me to understand the story although I didn’t do the skip. Moreover I was watching it raw, thus the difficult level added LOLS.

Closing

I really recommend this drama because you can watch many things in here. You can watch something so fluffy, sweet romance, friendship, family love. The chemistry between the female and male leads are strong. The other characters also have very well-written love story for example Fei Da Chuan with Cheng You Mei, Zhao Guan Chao and Hao Wu Yi.

 

3 thoughts on “Review C-Drama: Le Coup de Foudre (我只喜欢你)

  1. Hi, where did you watch le Coup de Foudre online and are there any English subtitles available yet? I will also try a google search but thought to ask in Comments in case of a shortcut answer
    (◕‿◕✿)

Touch the heart by words