Drama · Interest

C-Drama Review: Autumn Cicada (秋蟬)

This time, I want to share one of drama which I just finished not long ago. The drama titled Autumn Cicada that set in republican era when China occupied by Japan.

Let’s start with the synopsis!

In the year 1941 when Hong Kong was occupied by Japan, a Communist agent disguised as a military officer receives an important mission that is critical to the success of the revolution. Ye Chong (Ren Jia Lun) is a nationalistic young man with Communistic ideals. He comes to Hong Kong to help Sato (Hu Ya Jie) build the presence of the Japanese military police in the area. In truth, he has sworn allegiance to his country long ago and secretly operates under the code name Qiu Chan (autumn cicada) to relay Japanese intelligence to his comrades. His position puts him at risk time and again for the sake of his countrymen. (credit: Chinese Drama)

Cast: Allen Ren Jia Lun, Li Man, Liu Huan, He Du Juan, Joyce Jian, Hu Ya Jie, Li Ting Zhe

My two cents:

Story plot

This drama definitely isn’t my cup of tea because I am not really interested in Japan-China invasions and crimes war during WWII. But still has little bit curiosity. The only reason and motivation to check on this drama because Allen Ren Jia Lun and few actors that I think their acting not bad. Since I don’t really have high expectation for this drama, I shouldn’t feel too disappointed, right?

As expected, this drama has too many bugs and I can also say almost all the characters in this drama died. I skipped almost everything and only watching for Ren Jia Lun’s acting without bothering the boring story plot. How couldn’t I stop yawn, in first episode, there were more than three people get killed, all of them were Qiu Chan’s comrades.

As mentioned this drama is set in Hongkong but somewhat I felt Shanghai vibe more in this drama than Hongkong. Many times, I did confuse for the location. If they were mentioning Hongkong, perhaps, I would think the story was taking place in Shanghai.

The actors and actresses with their characters:

Ren Jia Lun as Ye Chong Aka Qiu Chan
I like this character the most not because the main role but more because Ren Jia Lun played this character. First time I watched Ren Jia Lun perhaps in Noble aspiration along Yi Yang Xian Xi as the fox deity. His acting wasn’t bad and yet not superb. After many years, I can see that Ren Jia Lun’s acting really progressing. Even with such boring story plot, I still could stick watching this drama until the end, all because Allen Ren.

Li Man as He Ying
In the beginning, I thought He Ying character should be strong activist with smart brain. And turned out, she is such trouble maker and weak. Her character sweat too much and so annoying. The romance line seemed to work out because Ren Jia Lun’s acting, I think. As actress, I don’t have deep impression toward Li Man acting because her acting just so average, at least watchable.

Li Ting Zhe As Miyamoto
I really like his villain character. Li Ting Zhe acting isn’t bad, I can see there still a room for improvement. For me, Miyamoto character is kind of character that you can hate to the fullest. Strangely, I like the interaction between Miyamoto with Ye Chong better than He Ying with Ye Chong.

Joyce Jian As Junko
Honestly if He Ying character switch to Junko, perhaps this drama would be more interesting because Junko Character is quite strong, so reliable as comrade. As for the actress, I noticed her acting when watching My Sunshine played as Hei Yi Mei. She played as He Yi Mei really not bad as well in here.

To sum it up, I would say that Autumn Cicada wouldn’t be drama that I’m going to recommend. At some point, I feel this drama so wasting. Ye Chong character was so alive played by Ren Jia Lun, the most important, I like how Ren Jia Lun portraying Ye Chong’s character because his acting was so detailed. The emotions changing of the character, the facial expression and so on. As for the ending, I didn’t mind it.

Touch the heart by words