Drama · Interest

Chinese Drama Review: Mr. Honesty (不说谎恋人)

Just finished Mr. Honesty, a Chinese drama that cast Liang Jie and Xin Yu Lai as the leads. Finally, I can watch another male lead beside Xing Zhao Lin LOLS. Let’s start with the synopsis!

Synopsis

Xu Yi Ren (Liang Jie) loses both her relationship and career in one night. Her close friend, Xia Di (Chen Shi Min) recommends her to an architecture company as the assistant of the CEO. However during the interview, she finds out that the CEO is the person who exposed that her boyfriend is cheating on her in public, Fang Zhi You (Xin Yun Lai). Though she doesn’t know why, Xu Yi Ren eventually gets the job, but gets handed a weird task – to lie for her boss. But Fang Zhi You’s tendency to expose her lies in public always lands her in sticky situations.

Story plot

I should admit that I was so intrigued with the story after watching its trailer because I wonder what kind of story this drama going to offer. Furthermore I am more willingly to give this drama a chance because I want to see whether Xin Yu Lai could give better acting performance compare to Dreaming Back to Qing Dynasty (with Li Lan Di). For me, the drama started quiet well, bit dragging in the middle and somewhat when I reached twenties episodes, it turned to be bit boring. Still, this drama much better compare to You Are My Destiny.

For the romance, I am quite surprised to watch, actually Xin Yun Lai did a good job, pairing with Liang Jie. They have the chemistry, the kissing scene as cute and sweet. I like the interaction between the CP.

Characters and Actors & Actresses

Xin Yun Lai as Fang Zhi You

This perhaps my second time watching Xin Yu Lai as male lead. Frankly to say, I enjoyed watching him and about the character, Fang Zhi You. I thought that I would watch another bossy domineering CEO in this drama but it turned out Fang Zhi You’s character is quite interesting because he doesn’t like to tell lie and dislike to hear people lying and yet he is ended up with the girl who likes to tell lie. Don’t you think this is kinda slapping his own face (face palm)? He is stubborn, decisive but somewhat whenever he faces the female lead, every thing seems to be negotiable and tolerance. I like the development of the character.

Liang Jie as Xu Yi Ren

I think Liang Jie is fit well to act characters alike Xu Yi Ren and Qu Xiao Tan (Eternal Love) rather than played as Chen Jia Xin. I like to watch her playing as quick-witted and smart girl and not the type of White Lotus as she played in You Are My Destiny. As for Xu Yi Ren this character, I am bit dilemma because whenever watching Xu Yi Ren, sometimes I felt she might seem to quick-witted but other time I feel like watching another plain stupid character, after all the character is such inconsistency for me.

I like the idea of describe the character as someone who likes to tell lie but not because she likes it. On contrary, she is scared to face the truth and tried to find comfort through lies. The lies that she said actually the way she tries to protect herself. And yet, I don’t see any character progress in Xu Yi Ren’s character.

Wang Sheng Di as Fang Shi Yu

Perhaps from all the characters, I like Fang Shi Yu the most. She is the younger sister of Fang Zhi You and somewhat she is maturer compare to all the adult in this drama. I like the child actress because her acting really good. Her acting make Fang Shi Yu character really live and look so real.

To sum up, this drama is quite okay for me just to spend days because…

It has enough romance, comedy and even the story plot just so so yet I should say slightly better if compare to You Are My Destiny. The ending is okay, but there is no explanation about other character such as Yu Qing, Xu Yi Ren’s cousin sister who has been so cruel to Xu Yi Ren since they were kids. Personally I won’t watch this drama for second time because there is nothing special. Even if someday I re-watched it, perhaps the reason is only the child actress, Wang Shen Di. After all, I really like her acting.

Touch the heart by words