Diary · Experience · Interest

Reasons For Writing Journal

‘There are no limits to what you can accomplish except the limits you place on your own thinking’

Brian Tracy

 

As you can see from the title, you may already guess, what kind of post this going to be. In this post, I would like to talk the reason why I am writing journal, sharing my experience and the benefit I gain from writing journal.

I have been starting to write diary later journal since I was a Junior High student. If I can say, it was the darkest time I ever had in my life because I was mentally and physically not okay and exhausted. I wasn’t really an introvert person to begin with but my environment did change me. Everything was started when I transferred to new school. No need to guess because it was related to school bullying. Beside bullying, the pressure that given by my competitive parent did take place too. No blaming and playing victim but since then my life has changed. Writing journal has been my habit to express my feeling, as personal daily record, place where I write my creative ideas, a planner, to do list, and it turns out to be an important part of me.

My reasons for writing journal

  • Expressing my feelings and emotions

This is my very first reason why I start to write journal or you may call it as diary because most of the time, I wrote more about my personal feeling, what did I feel during that time. Either positives or negatives. I didn’t have anyone to talk with, I felt so lonely to the point, I was relying so much with my writing in order to express my feeling. I still keep all my diaries from that time, and until now, I am so grateful with my past self every times I read what I had written, because she didn’t give up and even survive through those hard times although I left with many scars and wounds from past. Still, I believe, time is going to heal it.

  • Improve my organizing skill

When I entered my Senior High, I did change little bit the function of my journal, it wasn’t only a tool for me to record my personal feeling but I did use it to improve my organizing skill such as scheduling and planning for my academic purpose. During that time, I had adapted well with my competitive education environment so that I need to be more organized in order to secure my position as ‘study-nerd’ so that I wouldn’t disappoint my parent hard work for paying my expensive school fee.
Later on this skill expanding to organize my finance such as budgeting.

  • Explore my thoughts

By writing a journal, it isn’t only good for my mental health but also can be a resource for my creative ideas and writing. Many times, I do find my random thoughts can be so inspired and motivated for myself in different occasion. It might not important at the time I wrote it but might be useful on the other time when I open and read it, sometimes.

  • Daily reflection and meaning to my life

Journal can help me in many ways, each pages that I wrote, it helps me to do self-reflect, introspection for the better me in the next day since it does record what I have experienced or feeling. Writing a journal adding meaning to my life, it may subjective, one-sided perspective and yet it reminds me that I am unique as individual.

Do you write journal too? Tell me in comment box ^^

4 thoughts on “Reasons For Writing Journal

  1. I do write journal regularly before n it’s help when i have somethings at my heart but not suppose to tell any one. But now not so often . Only when i needed to or when i have time .
    It’s record my Life, my struggle, my hope, my mistakes etc.
    And i always end it with hope n pray everytime i write.
    Thank u

  2. I used to not any more. I guess it be nice to start again. Like you say it is beneficial for your mental health. My journal/diary was somewhat different. I wrote down songs that I heard on the radio that expressed the same or similar feelings I was feeling at that particular time. I too am an introvert.

Touch the heart by words