Interest

Things That You Should Pay Attention When Street Feeding

Street feeding isn’t new activity for me because I have been doing it for few years already. But do you know? It was so awkward when first time I walking along the street in order to feed the stray cats. Moreover, some people looked me with such weird eyesight as if I was doing something strange. Here are few things that you should pay attention if you do think to street feeding or just starting doing it.

Pick the location

When doing the street feeding I would like to choose uncrowded place in which aren’t many people passing by. Then I would put the food separately, never put at one place and I would make a distance from one to another. So that the cats won’t fight each others.

Cleanliness of the environment

It is so important to pay attention to the cleanliness of the environment during street feeding because people may not appreciate what we have been doing if we just left the food container that way. They might think we are trashing and personally for me this kind of street feeding is called as irresponsible street feeding. Therefore, you should wait until the stray done with their eating and then collect the food container or throw it to trash bin in order to keep the environment clean.

Never touch the stray cats unless they approach you

When I street feeding stray cats, I would try make a distance toward them, I don’t touch them when they are eating unless if they have acknowledged and being familiar with me, I may stroke them one or two times but never really played with them because I don’t want them to lost their wild instinct. After all, they are living in the street, they should keep themselves alert to human and also environment. Since we can’t guarantee others human being, would tolerate their existence.

I hope this tips going to help whoever that have decided or thought to street feeding.

Also I want to thank anyone that considering street feeding as new routine ^^.

Touch the heart by words