Diary · Experience · Interest

Azurro’s Two Cents: Bread And Dream (面包与梦想)

Which one is more important between Bread and Dream? I guessed, most of us aren’t foreign with the question and yet, at the same time we often confuse and get ourselves in difficulties position once we are asking to choose between Bread and Dream.

When I graduated from university, I did ask myself about bread and dream, can bread be dream, dream turn to be bread or should I separate both? If I choose bread, what the substance for looking job and working at the field that I dislike? Is it for living and earning money? Or should I go to pursue my dream although it may hard and full of obstacles? How should I choose between two? If I need to choose one, which one is priority? Or could I have both? And yet how could I find the balance for both of them if I want both?

When I was young, many elders, teachers including my parent, all of them encouraged me to dream. They said as long as I dare to dream then my dream would be come true one day. Many beautiful imagination came to my younger self whenever talked about dream. But no one ever told me, when I grew up and become adult, there is a harsh reality about Bread and Dream awaiting in front of me.

Not all the dreams can be come true, this is the first reality that came into my realization. Some people said as long as you work hard, then your dream will be come true one day, but when that day comes? Can somebody tell me? Perhaps in some people’s point of view, having a dream is something great, almighty but actually the reality is cruel more. It almost impossible to give up bread for dream because we need to live. But it is also pitiful to live with many breads without dreams.

For me, dream is kind of expectation toward future. Dream is something that able to make us to preserve, to move on by believing we will feel happiness, self-satisfaction, self-achievement once we reach it. While bread is more alike fuel for me in order to stay survive in this cruel world. But alike what I said, we often face the difficulty to choose between Bread and Dream. When this question asked? How should the answer be given?

Here I shared my point of view and also the path that I am taking right now. I like writing, I like studying new languages, I wish my writing can inspire, bring a joy as well motivate whoever read it. I like to have flexible working time, thus the first that came into my mind was blogger, freelancer, translator. But my dream doesn’t earn money and cannot cover my bills. I did try to give up my bread and working hard to chase my dream. Alike any youngsters, when I was still in my early twenties, full of spirit to pursue my dream and the thing that I desire. I gave up my high pay and yet boring job, preferred to chase my beautiful dream but reality just too harsh for me or I just hadn’t lucky enough at that time.

After went through that time of period, I decided to put aside my dream and then back to reality, looking a ‘decent’ and well paid job as white collar. Although I get back to workforce as white collar, never once I forget with my dream. So that, I decided to find away how to keep my dream without losing my bread. After all, I still need to pay my bills, am I right?

Things that I learned through the days I chasing my dream:

  • The reality of dream
    Although dream is beautiful, it may make you happy but less would bring you a prosperity in financial, this is the first thing I learned. Bread may come as alone but Dream should come along with Bread after all, as human being we should live and survive first. Remember about the first level of marshmallow hierarchy of needs!
  • Set the dream that you can reach even if it is hard.
    There is a tiny line between build castle in the air/daydreaming (做白日梦) with Dream (梦想). Therefore you should understand the dream that you pursuing is type of build castle in the air or real dream.
  • The Attitude that you have for your dream.
    Reality can be so harsh sometimes but it backs to yourself on how you viewing your life. As human being, we cannot stay positive at whole time because there would be the time, we must have thought to give up or feel so weak. This is also applied to dream.Your attitude is the key factor whether your dream can continue or stop.
  • Long or Short Benefit/Interest
    You should decide which benefit/interest you want to have, whether long or short one. You may start to collect your bread first, put aside your dream or you may bravely pursue your dream although you bleed and fall hard while give up your bread.
  • Understand and know to plan + organize
    If you plan everything ahead, you will be easier to make your dream to come true rather than go without plan. Organize mean you know which step to take first and continue with the second and others steps so you may come closer to your dream.

Last but not least. Actually Bread and Dream can walk hand in hand without clashing each others. You still can have your bread and dream also can come true. The most important is the way how you think, the decision that you choose and the step that you take are right, then you will have both bread and dream with you. Don’t force your dream to be your bread or your bread to be your dream because once you lost the balance on them, the result could be worsen that having only one or nothing.

If you feel unhappy and upset because the dissatisfaction happened in the past, moreover if you feel worry, restless and insecurity for your unknown and unpredictable future. Just remember, yesterday has already passed, there is no way to turn back the time. As for tomorrow, it is still unknown and unpredictable so your worries, restless and insecurity feeling actually useless. Because all of us are living in the present, it is only the present moment that precious and also every decisions and experiences that happen in the present moment it is the truly valuable.

How do you think about Bread and Dream?

Touch the heart by words