Drama · Interest

Must Watch: The Imperial Coroner (御赐小仵作 )

I thought there wouldn’t be drama that going to catch my attention after Word of Honor, starring Gong Jun and Zhang Zhe Han. Because I didn’t find other ancient dramas as interesting as Word of Honor until I saw The Imperial Coroner. To be honest, I wasn’t optimistic with the drama because I am totally unfamiliar with the cast except Su Man Tong whom I did spot in Young Blood (大宋少年志). My impression about Su Man Tong acting, she types of actress who isn’t giving the feel of hateful when playing the role of Little Rabbit (傻白甜).

Well, let’s back to the topic!
There are few reasons why I like this drama and even put the title as MUST WATCH.

Story Plot
The story took place during Tang Dynasty, a young girl named Chu Chu (Su Man Tong) was coming from Coroner’s family that served Ya Men (Government Office) for many generations. She meets Prince Xiao Jin Yu (Wang Zi Qi), a dignified prince in charge of criminal lawsuit who appeared weak and sickly. Prince Xiao lacks reliable manpower to investigate case, while Chu Chu lacks people to step up, take charge and be a man. Together, they manage to unravel a shocking case that has dragged on for 18 years. After solving the case, she won the Emperor’s approval and is finally certified as the Imperial Coroner, fulfilling her life goal.

What I like from this drama story plot is, it doesn’t try to fool the audience or make the story as if underestimate my IQ as audience when watching the drama. The pace of the story isn’t slow and fast, it is totally suit my taste because the drama isn’t dragging and they done it quite detail.

Characters, Actors and Actresses
As I said before, I wasn’t optimistic with the casts as well the story because all of them are totally unfamiliar and for me they just ‘new face’ for me moreover the male lead is not handsome compare to Wang You Suo who played with Su Man Tong in Young Blood. I was little bit hesitating but since I really like Su Man Tong acting in Young blood, I gave myself a chance as well the drama and ended up finding myself watched the drama straight ten episodes without skip any and carving more.

Su Man Tong as Chu Chu
Chu Chu is a young girl who came from remote place to Chang An in order to be Coroner (in modern time we called it as Forensic Examiner). Chu Chu types of detailed orientated person when she is doing her job as coroner. I like the way Su Man Tong portray Chu Chu character, even though Chu Chu has appearance alike white rabbit but she when it comes to do her job, she is totally serious. The most important, Chu Chu isn’t typical unrealistic and marry sue dummy female character which lately been seeing in Chinese Dramas. This is also the reason why I say Su Man Tong ‘little rabbit’ character is such likeable.

Wang Zi Qi as Prince Xiao Jing Yu
Judging from the appearance, Wang Zi Qi isn’t a ‘normal’ standard of current Chinese drama male lead. An initially, I do think that he looked far compare to Wang You Suo but when I started to watch the drama, to my surprised, Prince Xiao Jing Yu and Chu Chu, this CP is totally perfect because as actor, even Wang Zi Yi might not as good looking as ‘normal male lead suppose to be’, but he has the vibe, aura that perfectly suitable to portray Prince Xiao Jing Yu. Wang Zi Qi really has good acting skill at least compare to popular idols trying to be actors. For example Li Wen Han UNINE, Kris Wu Yi Fan.

When I spotted Su Man Tong in this drama, I thought it would be comedy drama which wrapped as historical fiction drama but who knows, after marathoning for three days and watched until episode 30, my conclusion about this drama is Historical Fiction+comedy+romance+suspense because the drama has cases that needed to break (suspense), the sweet interaction between Chu Chu and Prince Xiao Jing Yu (romance), the funny scenes among the characters.

At one glance, one could say this drama is categorized as low budget drama from the quality of shooting as well the props and costume they used. Even though the drama is low budget, I can tell how the teams put their heart to produce and make one good dramas which almost rare to find in lately drama. For example, I like how they inserted drawing in this drama to more detail explanation of the case which I find it as interesting.

Anyway, I am strongly recommended this drama. I can tell this drama types of drama that I may keep and re-watch over and over ^^
If you have watched it, don’t forget to share your experiences and thoughts about the drama in the comment box

 

4 thoughts on “Must Watch: The Imperial Coroner (御赐小仵作 )

  1. Great review!!! I started watching this drama too. I’m only at episode 12. But you are absolutely right about the excellent choice of the characters. I too noticed that the male lead was not your usual cookie cutter type. And the female is intelligent. What a wonderful change in Asian dramas. And yes there are too many attractive untalented actors and actresses who crossed over from the music world. I’m watching another Chinese drama where the leads are not overly handsome or beautiful. But the male lead is more credible as a real person. My drama ” The Double Sweet Wife” still follows most of the typical story line. It ‘s cast of unknown and meager talented actors has held my attention because I want to see the male lead take charge of his love life as he discovers that his lottery bride is not the woman he is falling in love with. How he will stop his live in wife’s love rivals from killing her and wrecking his life . I really want to see it happen.

    1. Sometimes low budget dramas are surprisingly done well compare to big budgeted and big names drama.
      In my opinion the production team should invest their money to good script, cast suitable actors and actresses (Best find those can act not those ‘liu lang’ idols who cannot act).

  2. Really love this drama and i agree that it is for rewatching time and time again.. do you have similar dramas to recommend of this quality?

Touch the heart by words