Drama · Interest

First Impression C-Drama: Miss the Dragon (遇龙)

I was so intrigue with the trailer of Miss the Dragon. The way they shoot the drama looked so promising and beautiful. I have watched few dramas played by Bambi Zhu Xu Dan which I thought her acting just so so (at least far better compare to Angelababy). As for the male lead, Dylan Wang He Di who rose fame after playing Dao Ming Si character in Meteor Garden remake version, speak frankly, I didn’t really watch the drama but I did watch Rational Life, in which he is also a male lead. For me, Dylan Wang He Di acting just watchable, at least in Rational Life.

Let’s start with the synopsis (credit to viki):

As a humble maidservant, Liu Ying (Bambi Zhu Xu Dan) spends her days attending to the beautiful Xia Hou Xue. Coming across a snake (which actually 1000 years dragon) purely by accident, Liu Ying saved the poor creature from harm, only to learn that it wasn’t a snake at all but rather a thousand-year-old dragon king by the name of Yu Chi Long Yan (Dylan Wang He Di). Eternally grateful to Liu Ying for saving his life, Yu Chi Long Yan wishes to repay her kindness by marrying her. But just when they are about to get married, Xia Hou Xue is poisoned and dies. Upon Liu Ying’s request, Yu Chi Long Yan chases after Xia Hou Xue’s soul and is told that Liu Ying’s life is tied with Xia Hou Xue’s because of an oath.

To save Liu Ying’s life, Yu Chi Long Yan marries Xia Hou Xue and makes Liu Ying loses her memory of him. Eventually not being able to stand the pain of watching Liu Ying from afar, Yu Chi Long Yan digs out his reverse scale so that he can deceive the Heavens and goes to spend the lifetimes with A’Yu and Chen Yue, who both are Liu Ying’s reincarnated spirit. Now in her fourth lifetime, Liu Ying’s reincarnated spirit, Gu Qing Yan, slowly becomes aware of Yu Chi Long Yan’s existence and begins to recognize his presence is not just this life, but her past lives as well. After waiting three lifetimes to be reunited with his love, will Yu Chi Long Yan and Liu Ying finally have the chance to live happily ever after?

Here my impression after watching first five episodes of the drama.
I do really like the way they filmed the drama but the story plot and acting just sucks. No offended, I did skip many scenes and ended up myself to ‘screen’ five episodes less than half hour, and then got back, trying to fully watch one episode which I really couldn’t help myself for not skipping any scene. It was too hard for me.

In the first episode, watching the beautiful shoot of Yu Chi Long Yan went out from his big bathtub with ‘naked’ body, that took more than two minutes. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the scene. About the acting, I am totally clueless when watching both Bambi Zhu Xu Dan and Dylan Wang He Di acting, I just felt watching newbie actress and actor who just started acting. It seems the acting skill that these actors shown not really their usual level. At least, for me, judging from their past dramas, both could do better. Honestly, I really disappointed with Dylan Wang He Di’s acting. For the entire first episode (the only episode that I force myself to watch without skipping), the facial expression didn’t change, using Chinese words, the face expression that he showed in the drama is not more than Mian Tan (paralyzed) expression. While Bambi not any better than Dylan, she screamed lots and so annoying, the most important, I feel so off with her acting, there is also no CP feel or chemistry between them. Suddenly I miss how she acted as Xuan Nu in Eternal Love or as Yuan Mu Qing in Physic Hunter.

I don’t know about others, but I am giving up this drama because I didn’t find anything catch my attention or at least hold me to keep on continuing it until the end even with crazy skip and skim. To my surprise I just like the way they filmed and yet I still give up the drama. Tell me your opinion, if you have watched it. I want to hear another voices about this drama or are you at the same boat with me? Not really like the drama.

 

One thought on “First Impression C-Drama: Miss the Dragon (遇龙)

  1. TBH you are right about the part of the main leads having no chemistry. I have watched the whole thing and, excuse the terrible acting, but the plot was promising. The main leads have more of a relationship showcasing “devotion” than a sizzling chemistry IMO. Frozen expressions, annoying screeching and bambi eyes at the slightest inconvenience were the highlight of the show. Honestly, the second lead pair made the show more interesting. Visuals were stunning, as you have already mentioned.

Touch the heart by words