Drama · Interest

1st Impression Chinese Drama: Once Given Never Forgotten (你的名字我的姓氏)

I started this drama since last week before July ended. To be honest, I didn’t actually want to watch it but only aiming to take a peek. Because I plan to start this drama once it completely aired. But, after watching the trailer, I started to watch episode one and the rest is history because I can’t stop. When I blog about this post, I have watched until ep.15.

Once Given Never Forgotten is a drama that tell a young man, Xiang Yu Qiu (Eric Yang Le) who promised his girlfriend to take care Lian Xin (Zhang Xue Ying) before she died and donated her cornea to ten years old Lian Xin. Lian Xin is an orphan who adopted by Luo Family but she is closer to Xiang Yu Qiu. After many years, Luo family decided to immigrate to USA by bringing their only son Luo Rui (Wang Zi You) leaving Lian Xin alone. Their initial planned was sending Lian to Spain to learn dancing which actually was Luo Ting’s dream (Xiang Yu Qiu’s girlfriend and the daughter of Luo family)

Lian Xin agreed to go to Spain but she didn’t go there to dance but she studied business. Xiang Yu Qiu left everything in China and followed Lian Xin to Spain because he worried about her, feared that she couldn’t adapt in foreign country. Both Lian Xin and Xiang Yu Qiu were working and struggling so hard in their first year arrived in Spain. Especially Xiang Yu Qiu who wanted to give Lian Xin comfortable life in Spain.

More than one decade companionship, Lian Xin aware about her feeling toward Xiang Yu Qiu, once she certain about her feeling, she confessed to him but rejected by Xiang Yu Qiu. Then not long after that, Xiang Yu Qiu returned to China, in the beginning Lian Xin thought it was because her confession but less she knew another reason was Xiang Yu Qiu injured his right hand and need immediate treatment.

My two cents:

To be honest when I read the synopsis in iqiyi, I didn’t buy it because it sounded alike another dog-blood drama which really not my cup of tea. Good thing, I did check the trailer and I felt okay with the drama. Therefore I am giving myself a chance to watch the drama. The drama isn’t totally alike on how it described in synopsis. It less crazy and sounded better than how it said in synopsis.

After watching 15 episodes, I can say this drama isn’t for everyone because there are too many loopholes as well flaws and somewhat it isn’t the synopsis that make me interest with this drama but the acting of the actors as well the way they filmed it and the most important, this drama has incredible OST.

Since the drama itself has 40 episodes, and so far it has aired less than 20, it still so soon for me to recommend this drama. Because I have so many questions about this drama and wonder how everything is going to be. The most intriguing me about this drama is it said that Female lead is having Alzheimer which happened because she is feeling under pressured and the Male lead is trying to help her to regain back her memories about him and their love. For me, this is one of the flaw of the drama and yet I am so curious how the writer going to solve this.

One thing that I know, I really like the OST. My favorite song is Name Me By Your Surname (以你之姓冠我之名) which I translated not long ago. The song is sung by Yisa. I feel only by listened to the song, I felt that I have known the drama. There are many emotions in this song.

Touch the heart by words