Drama · Interest

1st Impression Chinese Drama: Crush (原来我很爱你)

Hello everyone!

I’m back with new post about web-drama that currently airing in Iqiyi. Crush also known as Wo Yuan Lai Hen Ai Ni (原来我很爱你) is 24 episodes drama that main leads are Wan Peng and Evan Lin Yan Jun. This drama is based on novel, How Not To Love?/ Blind Man, I Love You (衾何以堪/ 瞎子, 原来我很爱你) written by Mu Fu Sheng. When I made this post, I have watched until 14th. Let’s start with the synopsis.

Synopsis (credit to baidu)

Sang Wu Yan (Wan Peng), a college senior, dreams of becoming a broadcaster. She works as an assistant at a radio station and likes a mysterious songwriter with the name “Yi Jin”. She fell in love at first sight after a chance meeting with Su Nian Qin (Evan Lin) and later discovers that he is visually impaired. Layer by layer, Sang Wu Yan peels off Su Nian Qin’s elusive, arrogant and indifferent shell due to his broken family. She then learns that he was in fact the talented ‘Yi Jin’. Their interactions lead to a sweeping romance but the couple finds themselves in a tug of war between their hard-earned happiness and a fear of loss. Mounting pressure eventually leads to a breakup. Three years later, the two people who have gone down different paths meet again.

My Two Cents:

Story plot

This drama has very light story plot in which you won’t really find wicked antagonist who are going to separate the leads because the conflicts that happened in this story, mostly are coming from the leads. For me this drama is type of drama that giving me relax vibe when watching it, I don’t have to wreck my head only to think what is going to be happened next and there is no ‘mental pressure’. Although this drama is categorized as light drama in my point of view, I also can feel the details and efforts that made by the production teams.

This drama is packaged with quite good writing, reasonable and logic. The character development is well-paced too. Even the support characters are also well-write but unfortunately, I don’t really fond with the second leads ‘love-line’. well, after all it just my personal thought about the second leads.

Actors and actresses

This is my first time to watch Evan Lin’s acting and the N times of Wan Peng. To be honest, I really like Wan Peng’s acting because her acting is so natural to the point sometimes I feel believing the character indeed is she. And the most important, the chemistry between Wan Peng and Evan Lin really good.

Speak frankly, I did feel worry about Evan Lin’s acting after all he is playing as visual impaired person and the male lead also has such cold and aloof characters which I think it quite hard because if the actor misinterpret the character it would end up as ‘Mian Tan’ or ‘paralysis expression’. After few episodes, really more I watched more I feel comfortable with Evan Lin’s acting because he not ended up to have paralysis expression even he acted as vision impaired person. I do also like how he smiles in this drama, it wasn’t exaggerating but fit well.

As for Wan Peng, there is nothing to worry about her acting. Most of the time when I watched Wan Peng’s drama, I don’t have much to talk and pick because she is good actress.

The OST

I don’t have much to say about the songs in this drama because I like all the songs. As you can see, I have translated almost all the OST lyric. The opening, ending and even the inserted songs just feel really customized for this drama.

If you want to watch something light and sweet, you can considering this drama. I am highly recommended this because for web-drama this one really not bad after considering the way they filmed, actors and actresses acting and also the details.

3 thoughts on “1st Impression Chinese Drama: Crush (原来我很爱你)

Touch the heart by words