Drama · Interest

C-drama Review: One And Only (周生如故)

I have done watching One And Only, a Chinese drama which adapted from Chinese novel titled One Life, One Incarnation – Beautiful Bones. This drama played by Bai Lu and Ren Jia Lun as the main leads. I remember, many years ago when Hoju decided to take One Life, One Incarnation – Beautiful Bones” (一生一世美人骨) by Mo Bao Fei Bao (墨宝非宝) as her next project, I felt so excited moreover Hoju did translate the novel so well alike professional translator ^^

Personally I really like the way Hoju translated the novel and the long footnotes so that as reader, I could understand the story better. The drama itself is divided into two parts, one is the past life when Zhousheng Chen was a great general and Cui Shi Yi was the only daughter of Sui family in Qing He who also a crown princess. The second part is the present life, Zhousheng Chen as a scientist and Shi Yi as voice dubbing.

Synopsis + Story Plot
At the young age, Xiao Nanchen Prince (Ren Jia Lun), the prince who held the control of a great army of seven hundred thousand, the one whom the empress dowager was most fearful of, and the youngest uncle of the crown prince. While Cui Shi Yi (Bai Lu), a daughter of Cui clan one of the most powerful family and at the same time she has appointed as Crown Princess since birth.

As both of their families are acquainted, Cui Shi Yi was sent to the Zhou Manor to learn some skills as Zhousheng Chen’s discipline. Cui Shi Yi has such cute, kind and smart personalities, everyone in Manor likes her. She such fast learner and also the apple of Manor. Cui Shi Yi grew to admire Zhousheng Chen’s lofty ambitions and gentlemanly character and slowly fell for him. She becomes his greatest support and companion, helping him wait for intelligence in the manor, and going to war with him. However, their relationship could not take a step forward due to their respective responsibilities.

During the battle and war, Zhousheng Chen was falling on enemies trap, accused to revolt and he bestowed the punishment of death by deboning upon him. While she commit suicide by jumping from the city’s wall.

I feel so much relieved when I knew Mo Bao Fei Bao was also part of the production, she wrote the script so that no worries or fears the story would have gone on strange direction.

The novel itself has already given heart-broken feeling because the detailed that wrote by writer and the translation did by Hoju. And yet, the drama just as good as the novel. Or perhaps I like the drama version more due to its detailed since I got to know all the disciplines that Zhousheng Chen has, also I got amused with Ping Qin Wang’s character and the tiny bit about Shi Yi’s eldest Senior Sister and her cousin brother, General Feng and the monk.

Main Leads

Bai Lu as Cui Shi Yi
Honestly, I was surprised when I knew Bai Lu would be going to play as Cui Shi Yi because this actress is well-know for her humorist and cheerful character. Moreover, Bai Lu real self and Cui Shi Yi are totally different. Again, when I saw the poster came out, she looked so different. If you haven’t watched the drama and just watching the bts then you would know how cheerful she as person and perhaps understand little bit about my worries in the beginning.

And yet, Bai Lu really is good actress because I almost believed Shi Yi must be Bai Lu or Bai Lu is Shi Yi. The thing that amazed me the most was the ending scene in which Shi Yi cried to her wholehearted when she knew Little Nancheng Prince was died by accused to revolt and as punishment he was deboning. Also when she wore her red wedding dress to commit-suicide.

Ren Jia Lun as Little Nancheng Prince AKA Zhousheng Chen
I have been liking Ren Jia Lun as actor since he played in Glory of Tang with Jing Tian, but he looked so well with Tan Song Yun in Under The Power. I did read few netizens discussed about Ren Jia Lun who perhaps not really suitable to play as Zhousheng Chen but personally for me, he looked so handsome and good looking moreover the outfits that he wore almost all were so beautiful and well-made. Even his White robe better than white robe he wore in White Snake Legend.

OST and Cinematography

The drama is beautifully shoot moreover the OST really fits well with it. I don’t have much complaints about the drama from the story plot, OST, Cinematography and everything this drama has offered. Even if there is no the sequel (next life story), I would still watching this drama because it is so beautiful despite of the tragic ending. Good thing, the sequel is going to be sweet at least I can watch Shi Yi and Zhousheng Chen together ^^

To sum up, I am really recommended you to watch it. It’s okay for the sad ending because you can tell yourself next, it is going to be many sweets. Just how I tried to comfort myself during watching the drama. Again, I should praise Bai Lu for her acting because for the last episode, her crying really made me sobbing and difficult to move on even after few days. And now, I hope they will air the sequel soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “C-drama Review: One And Only (周生如故)

  1. Hi, thanks for your review on One and Only 🥰 I would like to ask where did you watch Glory of Tang Dynasty with english subtitles? Thank you so much!

Touch the heart by words