Beauty · Experience · Interest

Review: White Story Alpha Arbutin Glow Serum

White Story is one of Indonesia skin care brand which quite hype in Indonesia’s tiktok not long ago. I heard several people said good things about this skin care brand. Therefore, I decided to give it a try.

I bought the clay mask, toner and serum. But in this post I would review the serum first because I have two bottles of serum (bundle package LOLS), also I took about six months only to find out the result and share my finding with you through this post.

Let’s start!

The product
This serum is type of brightening serum in which the main ingredient is Alpha Arbutin (Being known 10 times more efective than Beta Arbutin) for brighter skin. It suitable for dry and sensitive skin type.

Product claims:

  • Brighter the dull skin
  • Keep skin youthful
  • Repair the skin from sun radiation

My opinion about this product

For serum, this product has quite thick texture, it has fresh faint floral scent, very light, easy to absorb which personally, I quite like. As I mentioned before I have used this product for sometimes and during the time, my skin condition was not a simple dry but super dry.

My first three days using this product was quite okay because there was no sign of irritation such as redness or itchy. In the fourth day, I could feel my skin became drier and peeled. It didn’t serious yet enough for me to pay more attention.

During the first week, I’d used Innisfree cleanser and Hatomugi as toner and this product as serum. Only these three items for about ten days. Since, I noticed the changes in my skin, I stopped to use the product for 30 days. During the 30 days, I back to my skincare routine (Innisfree cleanser-Hatomugi toner-COSRX serum-Laneige sleeping pack)

After 30 days, when my skin has come to normal, not as dry as before. Then I started to do the second test for this serum. I changed my cleanser to Pyunkang yul cleansing foam. This cleanser is mild type. Again, I didn’t get positive result even after I changed my cleanser to mild one. Second test took about 7 days, shorter than first because I noticed I had pimples in my face.

I stopped used the serum for about a month because I needed to cure my face from pimples. Then the third test, I didn’t use it on my face but to my hands and legs. The third test, I wanted to know about the brightening effect. My hand and legs slightly darker compare to my body skin (in Indonesia we said warna kulit belang) since I often get exposed to sunlight.

I used the serum alike hand cream, often applied it on my skin whenever I done washing my hand. In straight seven days, I had used one bottle of serum (20ml), one to three drops in my every appliance. The serum made my skin became drier and itchy. I also didn’t see the brightening effect on my skin. This was also happened to my legs.

To sum up, this product didn’t suitable for my skin. No matter how I like the scent and how easy it absorbed to skin, I didn’t feel the product worked on me. So, I won’t repurchase it. About price, this product quite affordable for Serum (contained Niacinamide and Arbutin). I bought it during sale less than IDR 60,000 (two bottles equal to 40ml)

Have you ever used this product? You can shout in comment box. If you find this sharing useful, please let me know, then I will continue to share my experiences when using the other two items in other post.

Touch the heart by words