Experience

A Journey with A Naive Short-tempered Girl (纯情丫头火辣辣)

Hello everyone!

As you know, I have made a promise to finish A Naive Short Tempered Girl early in this year. Good news, I have completed it. You will get to read the post soon once Yu Lei done with the proofreading. While waiting for the proofreading, I decided to make this post. In here, I want to share my feelings, thoughts, experiences which I had during the translation. A Journey with A Naive Short Tempered Girl. So far, this novel is one of the longest novel project I have been doing (six years and four months) the number of chapters as well the time being spent.

Before I start…

I want to thank Yu Lei and you whom have been leaving supportive and encouragement comments in my posts. I am thanking to the readers who have been following my blog for all these years and also the companion since day one, and also when I decided to start this novel.

If I asked about my feelings when translating this novel, then I could say roller coaster.

After one year translating A Naive Short Tempered Girl, I was starting to doubt myself whether I should continue or stop it.

Many aspects made me felt dejected and wanted to give up. I never put in detailed about the experiences which I had at that time beside the vague disappointed and sadness. I started to get negative voices and dislikes comments related this project in which I was called as stupid translator, my works were called as lousy, yet kept being copied in some translation websites. I got hate more because password chapters. I was blamed because the pirate websites couldn’t provide new updates. Then, when there were few websites which doing machine translation and had completed this novel (whether in English or Bahasa), I still get another series of hate emails and comments.

I won’t deny if there moments I did think to stop and give up, leaving translation scene in here. But, every times, I wanted to… I always try to recall the reason why I started it.

Often Yu Lei said to me, I should stop if I have started to feel unhappy doing all these things. If no one appreciated this works, why keep on staying. Yu Lei is type of straight-forward person, poisonous tongue yet very soft tofu heart. Even Yu Lei said she left azurro4cielo, wouldn’t contribute anything in here. But, I know, she always been here. This year when I said to her, I shall finish this novel as soon as possible after all this novel has been translating for such long time. And guess, without any hesitated she helped me to do the proofreading.

A Naive Short Tempered Girl isn’t one of the best novel, it has many flaws, the characters are complicated and the most important, somewhat I feel this novel letting the reader to understand, life is always in grey zone. No one is really fully living in black nor white. Aside of the ‘violate’, ‘improper’ scenes, this novel really quite readable for me.

There is no perfect characters in this novel. Even Hei Yan Long, one of the character I favor, someone who looked alike gentleman, he used to be jerk too. Yet, I appreciate the changes and growth of each and every characters in this novel. As for the ending, let’s wait until Yu Lei finish the proofreading so later we can discuss more, such as the story plot.

Tell me how you feel about A Naive Short Tempered Girl, this novel?

Let’s share the thoughts here ^^

 

10 thoughts on “A Journey with A Naive Short-tempered Girl (纯情丫头火辣辣)

  1. Hi ! Glad you pushed through and completed the novel ! To
    Be honest there are some parts that the storyline get boring but thinking of your efforts , I can’t bring myself to stop halfway.

    Let see the end of this together ! Thank you for your time and all u have done to share this story to us.

  2. I have really enjoyed reading this novel and I appreciate all of your hard work 😓. If you had not taken on this project, I would never have met YY/LD, YAT, HYL, et al. Because I got to read this novel, it made me look for more Chinese novels. Once you’ve recovered, I can’t wait to see what you do next. Thank you for the enjoyment you have given me over the years. 💜

  3. thank you.. this is the first chinese novel that i read, it started with a comic that didn’t have a continuation so i was curious to find a sequel to the novel, after getting to know this novel i started looking for other chinese novels. but to be honest the characters from this novel are the best and not boring.. especially my yu aotian character, he is my dream (his positive character 😁) .. i love you azurro 😁

  4. Thank you so very much for working so hard on this through the years. I started reading this as a graphic novel and just couldn’t get enough. Finding your translations to read from the beginning (with the exception of a few of the saddest chapeters) was incredible. The development and growth of YAT, YY, and all the others has been so heartbreaking at times, but it’s good to see where they’ve come. Some of those heart broken characters where there when I was also healing from a lot. I feel like we have all grown together, the characters, you (Azzuro), and us fans. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart for sticking with this so we could know how YY and YAT’s story ended.

  5. Even though I’ve finished reading this novel long time ago I’ve been here on this platform because of my journey with YY started here. I’ve been silent reader for the past year cause I couldn’t express my feelings for the pain that YY was going through. I’ve been very angry towards her late husband and everyone who treated her like that. Still this novel was a long journey for me & I loved it.

    Azurro thank you for translating this work & we appreciate you a lot. I’ve read ur other works too. U’re an amazing person and continue ur work like always. Love u

  6. I thank you for keep translating this novel Azurro

    Its the longest you translate… i read all your other works too…

    I like the story… its different a little bit too complicated but interesting…

    About the haters.. once u are online u will face those people… just ignore them…

    They might be people whom been paid to dislike you… or frustated people whom just looking for channels to release their frustation… anyway not worth mentioning…

    Believe me there are much more readers like me whom very grateful to read yr translation.

    Thanks so much sincerely and jia you for your next project….

Touch the heart by words