Uncategorized

Itazura Na Kiss in Different Version

Itazura Na Kiss aka it started with a kiss or playfull kiss is drama based on Japanese manga with same title, story plot and adaption due to the production in different country.  the first version I watched was the Taiwanese adaptation of itazura na kiss, cast by Joe Cheng as Jiang zhi shu (male lead also known as irie naoki), Ariel Lin as yuan xiang qin (female lead also known as aihara kotoko).

Itazura na kiss was so succeed back then. As I remembered, it was a hot topic during my teenage time among the drama lover. everyday, when I was at school, during the break time, my drama lover friends were excited to discuss how zhi shu and xiang qin relationship and how they got interact each other.

Even Indonesia got to make it own version after the Taiwan itazura na kiss finished airing. Itazura na kiss wasn’t a new drama because the first adaption was made by the Japanese in 1996, time when I was so young. 1996 is the only version I skipped.

Yesterday, I just finished watching the newest itazura na kiss 2013, itazura na kiss love in tokyo cast by Furukawa Yuki and Miki Honoka. actually, I was so interested first time it air last year but I got to postpone watching since I afraid get addiction since I barely hard to stop watching because one I start, I should finish it (waiting to air every week might torture me much, hehehehhehehe).

back the time, when first time watching it started a kiss, I thought Joe Cheng “cool” enough to potray irie naoki but now after watching all the adaptation plus the anime ones, I made up my mind.

I could not say or mention which adaptation was the best since every adaptation has their own strength and weakness.

let me share my thought about those adaptation versions, exclude the Indonesian ones since it was the horrible and just couldn’t compare among three others.

The Story Plot and Adaptation

Taiwan version was the most longest compare to the Japanese and Korean. the Taiwanese even had the sequel after the first was so succeed in 2005. as we know, the core story plot just same from one to anothers. but, the adaptation, Taiwanese seems to be more complicated. well, it really just Taiwanese drama style, they just loving to make something simple to be complicated by adding these and those and in circle.

Korea version was saying the most failed one compare to others since the rating was not so good. eventhough, it said to be failed one but, it was sold to many Asian countries, included Indonesia because it international popularity. for me, I won’t say it as failed but maybe it did not suit the “taste”.

Japan version is the most nearest to the manga itself. it was not so long and straight forward, just alike Japanese J dorama style.

The Cast

Irie Naoki

I would say all who played as “naoki” in itazura na kiss were good looking and had their own charm. but here, I would like to share my thought who were the best in potray “naoki” character out from three versions.

I like to say, Furukawa Yuki is the best according me. I just feel he got the charm in potraying “naoki”. His poker face, the way he walking and interact with kotoko character. even he has deep voice that well describe someone smart, arrogant, proud and elegant on such way. After Yuki, I think Joe Cheng should be placed in second and the last was Kim Hyun Joong.

Aihara Kotoko

For me, Ariel Lin was the best in potraying aihara kotoko. when I watched the anime version, my first impression was Ariel Lin when it comes to aihara kotoko. As Xiang Qin, Ariel succeed to potray how dumb, cheersfull, hardworking, positive who never give up in chasing naoki or zhi shu. she is loud but not annoying, I mean, I did enjoyed watching Ariel as xiang qin.

as for the Japanese version, kotoko was so young (even in her real life miki is such young). I do like miki version as kotoko but compare to Ariel, she still far. the last still jung so min as oh hani. jung so min is beautiful and too smart in potray kotoko characters.

 

Kinosuke Ikezawa

second lead, kinosuke ikezawa.

I like the Korean ones, played by lee tae sung who has similar hairstyle and loud as ikezawa or kin-chan.

to be honest I really feel sick to watch Jiro as ah jin or kin chan since he really did overacted for me although I like fahrenheit and Jiro but in it started with kiss, ah jin character was big No No for me. Jiro has one dimensional acting skill back then. why I say so because if looking back to previous drama, I did not feel any differences Jiro as ah jin or Jiro as Xiu yi in hanakimi.

the Japanese version of kin chan looks most handsome and has “smart” look compare to others two version which I thought such weakness in potraying ikezawa kinosuke. as actor, I like yamada but to choose as kin chan character, I like tae sung most.

Kotoko friends

out from all, kotoko friends has the most adaptation. in started with kiss, xiang qin has two besties who are in same level with her, F class student but in character, I found out they all are different in every version.

if satomi was described as someone maturest among kotoko and jinko, I think the Taiwanese version just potrayed satomi and jinko at same level, an average.

I don’t have any words for jinko or satomi characters since I like all version, even I have my own favorite out of the character. I like hong yoon hwa, the fat girl who is oh hani friend.

 

Mama Irie

all version has the beautiful lady as mama irie but only cyndi chaw who played as jiang zhi shu mom is my favorite. I like how she acted so annoying but at same time she is so cute.

Papa irie and kotoko dad

I skipped papa irie. nothing could be say about papa irie. for me, all version just look same of papa irie.

if you ask me which version I like out of their acting. I like zhi shu dad and xiang qin dad, the Taiwanese version. they just so hilarious and funny. the Japanese version, both papa are too serious and lack of humor stuffs.

the korean version is so so means, not too funny but also not too serious. even I enjoyed how oh hani dad slapped seung joo. kekekekekeke

It only a few highlight about casts. I would move to the screen…

Korean version is the best in visual stuffs. I like the filming quality and the bears in every ending of episodes. it just reminded with Goong or Palace or Princess hours which also produced by MBC.

so last, let me put Furukawa Yuki pict as closing

哈哈哈哈哈

 

Furukawa Yuki
Furukawa Yuki

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Itazura Na Kiss in Different Version

  1. Hi Hanrierye8
    Talking about Itazura na kiss, I really can’t wait for the Japanese sequel (The marriage life). I wish to watch maturer miki at least as Aihara Kotoko ^.^

Touch the heart by words