Drama

TW-Drama : Back To 1989 (1989一念間)

picture10Not long ago when I posted about Behind Your Smile starring Marcus Chang, Gilly recommended Back To 1989. This drama was airing early in year 2016 and even succeeded Marcus Chang won Best Potential Award.

Synopsis credit to wikipedia:
Chen Che doesn’t know who his father was and the topic is a taboo in the Chen family. When an accident threw him back to 1989, a year before he was born, he gets a chance to find out himself. Before he could locate his mother, he first meets her best friend, Ye Zhen Zhen, a wholesome girl who helps him navigate the past while he helps her land big clients with his expert knowledge of stock market trend. Through her, he gets to know his younger, happier “mom” and the possible candidates for his father. He soon learns the reason his mother never talks about his father, and he is faced with a dilemma: He must choose between his mother’s future and his very existence.

My Impression

What I was expecting from this drama? This was my first question when I saw its promotional poster and also its opening song which are far from my likeness although it has quite good opening filming moreover Marcus Chang looked so adorable with suit. Then I just checked on the cast, I didn’t mind myself to give it a try. Speak frankly, I just want to see more Marcus Chang acting and Ivy Shao.

Despite of the oldies such as fashion styles, hairstyles, Marcus and Ivy are not bad as lead. Also I was quite surprised to spot Lin Jia Li and Jian Chang played in this drama.

I don’t really like Yorke Sun acting since the beginning because I always feel his acting is so awkward and also so monotone no matter what character he played (I don’t feel there is any difference when he played in Dear Mom or in V-focus).

The story plot is interesting. I like the idea Chen Che traveled back to one year before his born day because it has a reason. At same time, the story is something new and refreshing for me because Chen Che didn’t travel back to Kang Xi Era or Qing Long XD, instead he just traveled back 26 years ago before he born.

picture2 picture3The first episode is quite fast pacing because all the information has served but only if you noticed it (I just realized it after I watched few episodes) Chen Che and his mother have conflict about his biological father and then he get into incident which bring him back to 1989.

More pictures below:

picture1Seeing Marcus wearing suit, he indeed has such intimidate aura and suit just fit him very well. As I said the opening song is far from my likeness so that I would like to enjoy the opening in mute.

picture4This is the scene when Chen Che first time met Ye Zhen Zhen who was Chen Che’s mother best friend. I laughed hard for the up coming few scenes after this such as when Zhen Zhen asked Chen Che to pay her scooter which broken because of the incident. Chen Che’s Rolex watch which thought as fake good by Zhen Zhen and etc.

picture5 picture6 picture7 picture8 picture9Wrap it all, this drama quite good. I do recommend this drama after watching heavy dramas because this drama is so light, fluffy, humor and sad moment quite balance and my favorite scenes always watching Ye’s family interacting and also Chen Che with Ye Zhen Zhen.

Touch the heart by words