Drama · Interest

Review K-Drama: Fix You (영혼수선공)

Since these past few years, the topic about mental illness and disorders aren’t something taboo to talk in the public, instead of it becomes important. In the past, many people thought that only crazy people that need to see psychiatrist, to make it worse many of us are neglecting ours emotions. In this post, I want to share my two cents about this drama that cast, Shin Ha Kyun, Jung So Min, Tae In Ho, and Park Ye Jin.

Let’s start!

Synopsis:

A team of psychiatrists who believe in healing, and not just treating sick patients. Lee Shi-joon (Shin Ha-kyun) is happy to deal with living in a crazy world by being his eccentric self and leaning on humor to reach out to patients. He ends up being assigned a problem patient, Han Woo-joo (Jung So-min), a musical rising star with terrible anger management issues.

My Two Cents

Story Plot

Been liking this drama right after watching first episode because for me this drama really touch the sensitive and taboo topic about mental health to be spoken public. In the past, people thought mental health was referring to insane people who seem to lost their minds, but less people understand a simple nervous, panic, stress may cause severe mental disorder to the point losing life. I like the story plot of this drama especially the story about Doctor Lee Shi Joon who is the psychiatrist and most of time refer himself as soul repairman. Lee Shi Joon may psychiatrist but at the same time he is also patient for himself, emotions negligent that he used to experience when he was young leaving huge scar that he tried to fix thus he decided to be psychiatrist than surgeon like his father.

The story is well-written because every stories of each patients really have their own messages. In this drama beside stories about the mental health issues, we are able to watch the root why these people mentally sick as well the healing process of each patients. The story itself in my point of view something refreshing Perhaps in my point of view, everyone has their scars.

The Actors and Actresses with their characters

Jung So Min as Han Woo Joo
Speak frankly I thought that I might dislike Han Woo Joo, this character but as episodes gone, I realized how I could feel this character was actually grew on me. Han Woo Joo was a rising star who loses everything in the blink of eyes after ten years work hard as ‘unknown’ actress and must start over her career as well learning to love and value herself more. Jung So Min as actress, I should say that she really one of my favorite K-actress who really can act super well. Been watching few of her dramas and I could say that every times I watched her drama I wouldn’t see other character from her other drama sticking on her. I like how her acting looks so natural. She went from laughing to crying and then exploded in a single scene, very smooth transition to the point I didn’t feel like watching her acting but she lives the character.

 Shin Ha Kyun as Doctor Lee Shi Joon

He is well known as eccentric psychiatric who trying to cure his patient with such strange and unorthodox methods such as walking and strolling around the neighborhood with his patient who thought himself as police officer. Or chit chat with his patients during the room check as if they are his long best friend and even playing along with them according to each and everyone moods. But behind all of his smiles, actually Doctor Lee Shi Joo is someone who trying to get over his own trauma by because psychiatric not only to heal those who suffering because of their mental illness but the most important himself.

I quite enjoying myself watching Shin Ha Kyun playing as Doctor Lee Shi Joon even personally I wish to watch someone more handsome and younger than Shin Ha Kyun.

As for the support actresses and actors, speak frankly, their acting are really good but somewhat their characters at the end just alike filler for me. Honestly, I really want to see the characters development of these support characters.

To sum up, I really enjoyed my time watching this drama as well understand more about mental disorder this illness. This drama is informative and you may learn few things about human being emotions. This drama has deals with such a heavy subject, it somehow managed to feel lighthearted and maintain a good pace.

Jung So Min’s acting is the major pull and highlight of the show. So if you happen to be a fan of the actress, then this is a drama you shouldn’t miss.

Touch the heart by words