Drama · Interest

First Impression C-drama: The Confidence (阳光之下)

Today’s I would like to share my impression after watching The Confidence AKA The Controller (阳光之下) which has become weibo trending lately. This is a drama that adapted from novel titled 掌中之物 written by Bei Xin. I haven’t read the novel but Shushengbar did put it into BE category which often I won’t read it because Bad Ending. And yet, Yu Lei kept on persuading me to read the novel and also checking the drama. Since I don’t really dare to touch BE novel therefore I started by watching the drama first. Well, without further ado, let’s start.

Synopsis:
Ke Ying (Cai Wen Jing) is a lecture who teaching financial subject in university. On one raining day, she was driving to remote place in order to meet her fiance. Halfway, she suddenly stopped her car after she spotted there was a man lying on the ground. Then, she carefully got down from her car to check on that person but suddenly she was surprised by the man who lying on ground and at the same time, he long hair was pulled and her hit by them. Ke Ying was so afraid and at the same time she was trying to find away to escape. Therefore, when one of the men brought her to her car with an intention to rape her, she used something that she got from inside her car as a weapon to kill that man and directly accelerated her car and escaped.

Shen Shi Jie (Peng Guan Ying) is a gangster and psychopath who well-known with his vicious, hideous and cruelty nature. After gotten hit by Ke Ying and losing one of his minions, soon after that he hunted by police. Therefore in order to survive and escape from police, he got plastic surgery and start his life as Feng Xiao Sheng, a genius, young business man, CEO of Feng Group.

Ke Ying thought after seven months, right after the police told her that Shen Shi Jie had died. She finally could start her new life but no one knew that Shen Shi Jie AKA Feng Xiao Sheng suddenly appeared in front of Ke Ying. Although Shen Shi Jie did plastic surgery, yet Ke Ying still recognized him as Shen Shi Jie through his eyes.

Since the first encountered after seven months, Ke Ying started to have nightmare as well terrors by Feng Xiao Sheng. Considerate about the safeness of her parent and fiance as well people around her, Ke Ying decided to push away and cut all of them so they wouldn’t be targeted by Feng Xiao Sheng. Also, in order to get less torture by Feng Xiao Sheng, she finally agreed to help Feng Xiao Sheng to gain power and control over Feng Group.

Xiao Wu is a street smart who work as informant for police. And when he discovers Feng’s company is laundering money with foreign bank accounts, he uses his position as Feng Xiao Sheng’s right-hand man to collect evidence. He befriends Ke Ying, and the two work together to destroy the criminal organization.

My Two Cents:

Story Plot
So far, I have watched till 21 eps and super enjoying the drama because I haven’t watched something like this before and the story plot sounded refreshing because they said this is one of the drama in which the female lead doesn’t get Stockholm syndrome. I think Shen Shi Jie AKA Feng Xiao Sheng indeed the most rotten among the rotten male lead character I ever watched so far. I mean, really, after watching till 21 eps, I didn’t have soft spot for him even though the actor who played this character is Peng Guan Ying, one of my fav actors.

The actors and actress

Peng Guan Ying as Shen Shi Jie also Feng Xiao Sheng
As I mentioned, Peng Guang Ying one of my favorite male actors since first time I spotted him in Lan Ling Wang Fei as Yu Wen Yong. Unfortunately, since Lan Ling Wang Fei, I haven’t seen him played any ‘interesting’ characters since then. Most of the time he just played second and third male characters. Therefore, I feel so excited when I knew he would play main role although he played as antagonist.
Two thumbs up for Peng Guan Ying acting because every episodes whenever his face showing up, I still could feel goosebumps.

Cai Wen Jing as Ke Ying
I like how Cai Wen Jing portrayed Ke Ying character, especially the emotions which shown through her facial expressions for example when she was feeling fears also when angry, lose hope, etc. Through her eyes, I could feel how Ke Ying hates Shen Shi Jie as well her fears toward him.

To Sum up, this drama is worth to watch, as long as it sticks with core story or as long as not much fillers and dragging. The story plot is so refreshing, the acting of actors and actresses not dragging the show. Personally, I really want to praise the makeup artist because they didn’t turn Peng Guan Ying as beautiful male instead of they really sticking with his normal good looking man look when he as Feng Xiao Sheng.

One thought on “First Impression C-drama: The Confidence (阳光之下)

Touch the heart by words