Drama · Interest

Chinese Drama Review: Timeless Love (时光与你别来无恙)

When I decided to watch this drama, I just looking for light romance drama to spend my time ^^. Speak frankly, I don’t have any recollection about the main male cast but somewhat I felt like I have seen him somewhere until I checked the actor then I recalled, I once watched him in Cinderella Chief. But I am feeling more familiar with the second male lead, Fu Wei Lun.

 

Let start with the synopsis:

The story is about university student Jiang Dian (Chen You Wei) who is known with his coldness and smart brain. Known as someone genius in school, his only best friend is Lian Ruo Sheng (Fu Wei Lun). One day, Jiang Dian passed a bookstore and by coincidental he met Cheng Feng (Xu Yi Yang), the bookstore owner who was dancing.

Alike any classical romance drama, Jiang Dian has fallen in love at the first sight when he spotted Cheng Feng. Then the story is begin…

 

My two cents:

Speak frankly, I didn’t have high expectation toward this drama. The first episode is so ordinary but the narrative of the drama that caught my attention. Although the drama has such predictable plot but somewhat I still felt intrigue to know more about the story.

As said, Jiang Dian is cold and genius university student who suddenly turned to be little sunny boy after he met Cheng Feng, a bookstore owner who was dancer before. Both Jiang Feng and Cheng Feng are two people who have cold appearance. Jiang Feng is alike iceberg while Cheng Feng is alike dangerous thorn rose but actually both of them are very warm and soft people.

Since first time when Jiang Dian met Cheng Feng, he has already shown his interest toward her. When he decided to confess to Cheng Feng, his love was rejected by her because Cheng Feng thought Jiang Feng just like her beautiful appearance. But, Jiang Dian didn’t give up and even say to Cheng Feng that he would prove to her that he is serious with his words and feeling for her.

Cheng Feng was a dancer before she opened a bookstore but because she lost her mom, betrayed by her boyfriend then somewhat it turned to be her trauma, she stopped to dance. When Jiang Dian knew about Cheng Feng trauma and her past, he started to help Cheng Feng to face her fears and gives her courage to start to dance again. When finally these twos started to date, Cheng Feng condition is getting better and yet Jiang Dian is getting worse because without they realized, Jiang Dian actually has problem with mental health which caused him often to lost tempered for example alike child that throw tantrum, easily get jealous and insecurity.

At the beginning, the drama felt alike any ordinary light romance but more I watched more I feel the deep of the story. It isn’t alike perfect man who falling in love with beautiful girl who has traumatic past but what I like from this drama, both the female and male leads are characters with many flaws, imperfect and how they stay together and grow to be better version of themselves.

There was a time, I really feel pity to Cheng Feng because she isn’t only taking role to be girlfriend but at same time big sister who is taking care her younger brother, Jiang Dian. Moreover the relationship that she has with Jiang Dian turned to be toxic due to Jiang Dian insecurity and most of the time, Jiang Dian can be so manipulative. And yet, it good to know that Cheng Feng doesn’t easy to sway away by him and I like how decisive Cheng Feng character in this drama.

Of course, beside the teary and annoyance moments, this drama also has lots of sweet moments. I realized this drama not for anyone even it has labeled as ‘romance’ genre. But for me, there still few things that I can learn from the drama especially when you are in toxic relationship. I do appreciate the actors and actresses acting even their acting aren’t top-notch as least it still so watchable especially Cheng Feng character. I like when she told Feng Dian to call it quit if their togetherness just hurting each other and even asked to hiatus and come back once they have turned to be the best version of themselves.

2 thoughts on “Chinese Drama Review: Timeless Love (时光与你别来无恙)

    1. He has mental illness. Something alike OCD and his possessiveness toward the female lead. Due to his unstable mental, he makes their relationship turned to be so toxic and he tended to be so violent to the FL.

Touch the heart by words