Drama

1st Impression Chinese Drama: Dear Diary (我的巴比伦恋人)

I am so excited to share my thought about Dear Diary AKA Wo De Ba Bi Lun Lian Ren (我的巴比伦恋人) or literally translated as My Babylonia’s lover. This drama cast Bu Guan Jin, Feng Xiao Yue (Rhydian Vaughan), Tiffany Hsu, Wang Rui Chang, Zhu Yan Man Zi, Zhou You. Speak frankly, all of these actresses and actors are my favorite moreover I never thought I could watch them at the same drama. The first thing that popped out in my mind right the moment I saw the promotional poster, What kind of drama it would be? Another time-traveling? Another Fantasy? Another comedy drama with corny jokes? Well, whatever, I don’t care because I would go to check it, that’s how I thought.

Well, I admitted I was so biased in the first place for not caring what kind of drama it would be. Or perhaps because it has been so long I haven’t watched Feng Xiao Yue and Tiffany Hsu. First time, I saw Feng Xiao Yue was in Love Recipe and then he just caught me in Tiny Times 1 and 2. Then I never watched tiny times 3 and 4 because Yu Lei told me, it was getting worse and worse and I didn’t bother to check it and no curiosity since Feng Xiao Yue replaced by Vivian.

Well, without further ado, let’s start!

Synopsis:

24 years Chen Mei Rui is a network information monitor, she has an eccentric character. That day on her birthday, her only best friend, Jiang Hui Zhen was helping her to celebrate her birthday by holding such Romanian theme of birthday party. That night, all the people who attended her birthday party were wearing costumes. When the clock hit on 12 midnight, a man who wore an ancient Babylonia outfit came over, labeled himself as ‘Prince’ and ‘born because loved her.’

When Chen Mei Ru heard it, she thought there must be someone who tried to prank and disgust her. Until she heard the what so called prince said his name. Immediately Chen Mei Ru felt as if she gotten bolt, soon her memories back to when she was 12 years….

An extraordinary good looking, the half blood prince who would only love herself, the most beautiful princess who able to call rain and wind, the only friend of the prince, the wealthiest person. All of these characters were written by her when she was 12 years old.

The story plot was so childish, and yet these three characters after all suddenly showing up right in front of her. Could it be… Her diary gotten into real?

My two cents

I have watched until episode 12 and I can’t believe that I am super addicting to watch the drama. Not gonna lie that I indeed feeling so in conflicting in the beginning, weighing whether to watch or skip the drama because I afraid to see another ‘lame’ drama but again, judging from the actors and actresses who played, I think I should check it at least for one episode.

Story plot

To be honest, on the surface one might thought this drama is kind of comical, hilarious and nothing but, as the story progressing, this drama has more to offer. I can say, this is one of the best drama in this year judging on how the detailed of shooting, the story progressed, the cast, the edited and everything. Even this drama is labeled as web drama but I can say, the quality is comparable with movie.

In the beginning, you may think this is another melodrama fantasy story with so much brainless marry sue ingredients but don’t be mistaken. This indeed comical type drama but the jokes aren’t corny and low-level, also the sweetness this drama has absolutely not an artificial sweet alike other dramas tried to force. All in all, this drama really has so much more to offer. The appearance of Mu Rong Jie Lun (Feng Xiao Yue) as prince, the best friend of the prince as well the wealthiest man, Ou Yang Wen Shan (Richard Wang Rui Chang) and the most beautiful princess whose love never reciprocated by the prince, Princess Jiu Tian Long Nu (Tiffany Hsu) and fated to hate the female lead, Chen Mei Ru (Bu Guan Jin)

When I watched first four episodes, I thought the story just about a written diary characters came into alive but as I progressed to episode 10, I think the story isn’t merely characters that wrote by Chen Mei Ru when she was 12 years old. They showed up in real world with something more, something that related to the ancient Babylonia.

The Actors and Actresses

Feng Xiao Yue (Rhydian Vaughan) as Mu Rong Jie Lun
I think there is no actor that can play Mu Rong Jie Lun except Feng Xiao Yue because I think he fits all the criteria and perfectly fit all attributes in Mu Rong Jie Lun. Feng Xiao Yue has biracial look (a perfect mix between western and eastern), he can speak Chinese perfectly, good looking, he also can act.

Bu Guan Jin as Chen Mei Ru
She has caught my interest since first time I watched her in Suddenly Summer with Bai Yu, for me, she is someone who can act in multi-layers character. Perhaps, there might some actresses who can take Chen Mei Rui character but I think, it is only Bu Guan Jin who can act Chen Mei Ru and bring the best out of the character due to its layer.

Tiffany Hsu as Jiu Tian Long Nu
I can’t believe to see there is no much changing in Tiffany Hsu appearance. I was in teen when first time I watched her in It’s Started With Kiss as second lead. Just alike how Jiu Tian Long Nu character described as she is one of the most beauty princess who falls in love with the prince. Tiffany Hsu indeed so beautiful moreover she really has princess aura, hasn’t she?

Zhou You as Duan Shui Liu
Not really know about the actor but I watch the crime-drama, The Burning River which I find out his acting really good. Speak frankly, when I see Zhou You as Duan Shui Liu, I do feel, he was alike playing himself and not a character because it feels so surreal. The acting Zhou You showed as if it is so effortless.

Richard Wang Rui Chang as Ou Yang Wen Shan
I watched him first time in Eternal Love together with Xing Zhao Lin whose acting just getting worse. But he really caught my eyes in A River Runs Through it which ended not long ago.

Zhu Yan Man Zi as Jiang Hui Zhen
This actress played so well in Unrequited Love but sadly her ML, Zhao Shu Ran really couldn’t catch up with her. But, I really glad she took this project because in here, I can see more about her acting. I think the best part of Zhu Yan Man Zi acting is her eyes. I like the changes emotions she showed through her eyes.

To sum up, since I am just half way watching this drama, I can’t say much but judging from the seriousness of the production teams also the actors and actresses, I still appreciated it. I am still following this drama, because I really curious how this journey going to be ended.

Touch the heart by words