Drama · Interest

1st Impression Thai-Drama: Flower Boys (F4)

This is my first drama review in the beginning of the year and at the same time my first time to review Thai drama (Lakorn). As you can read from the title, you must have known, I’m going to talk about the legendary Flower Over Boys drama which has remake for N times. I guess, all of us (you born from 80s, 90s even 00s) must have known this classic story.

As for me, the most memorable perhaps the Taiwanese Meteor Garden cast Jerry Yan, Vic Zhou, Vanness Wu, Ken Zhu and Barbie Hsu after all it was the first adaptation that I watched and also since then, they have been famous for more than 20 years since the drama aired many years ago.

I won’t put any synopsis after all we know what the story is about so that, I just skip it and directly start with the Cast, the way they filming, and what I think about this newest version of F4. Well, without further ado, let’s start.

Story Plot and Filming
So far, I have watched until ep2 and I can say, they have really stick with the original story. I am okay with the way they shoot the drama, it quite detail and comfortable to watch except, I really dislike the ‘bullying’ place where they ‘executed’ their victim. That place really… perhaps, it just me, but I feel it doesn’t match for elite school to have such area. When I watched those scenes, I feel like watching bunch of rich kids playing in slump area.

Cast
I have so much to talk about the cast. Let’s talk about Bright and Win, to be honest, I was little bit surprised to see both of them played in this drama as best friend after all, I spotted these two played couple in BL drama. Before this drama aired, I didn’t put so much expectation after all the China-Taiwanese version which actually disappointed me in many ways. Again I was curious so that, I checked it out.

Bright Vachirawit Chivaaree as Thyme Akira Paramaanantra
Bright is played as Domyoji Tsukasa. Not every actors can play this character moreover every actors who played this character whether like or dislike, we as audience would keep on comparing with the most iconic Jerry Yan as Dao Ming Shi and Matsumoto Jun. As for me, Bright is surprisingly exceeded my expectation as Domyoji Tsukasa compare to the previous remake. I can see the ruthless vibe and arrogance that showed by Bright without seeing it as something too much but instead I feel his acting is really comfortable as if I feel this should be the ‘new version’ of Domyoji Tsukasa.

Tu Tontawan Tantivejakul as Gorya
Tu is played as Makino Tsukushi. She is the second actress that surprised me to take Tsukushi character. After all, from all the remake, I really like Inoue Mao as Tsukushi and I thought no one really can play the character as well as Inoue Mao. And now Tu, she becomes the second actress that I like since Tu really has the aura and vibe. You may find her look so ordinary in the beginning but more you see her more beautiful she does and the most important is her acting does really impress me.

Dew Jirawat Sutivanichsak as Ren Renrawin Aira
Dew is played as Hanazawa Rui. First time when I saw the promotional poster, seeing Dew, it reminded me one of Chinese actor who dances very well but his acting not really. So that, I couldn’t help myself to judge Dew. Good thing, Dew can act and even better more than the one I mentioned. Personally, I really like Dew’s eyes. Dew is so good at giving his soft, melodramatic eyes as Ren and his smile really killed ^^

Win Metawin Opas-iamkajorn as Kavin Taemiyaklin Kittiyangkul
Win is played as Mimasaka Akira. I feel Win seemed to be enjoyed with this character because I can feel his acting way better compare than when he was still acting in Together. I really like the way how Win smiles and smirks.

Nani Hirunkit Changkham as MJ Methas Jarustiwa
Nani is played as Nishikado Soijiro. Alike Dew, Nani just a new actor. I haven’t seen any of his acting but I really like his appearance, so seductive and sexy, these are the words that I can describe him at this moment.

To sum up, personally I really like this version after the Japanese version. I can say they are really sticking close to the original version even there are some scenes perhaps not filmed but so far I really like the quality. As additional, all the main cast really not disappointing. I can say, when it comes to remake version, I can turn to be so picky and most of the time, I try not to do the review of the remake version after all the comparison I made, just afraid myself might offend people with my words. Therefore I am so cautious when reviewing remake version.

Since I just watched till episode 2, I really look forward for the next episodes and hope it will give more positive surprises. And before I ended my 1st impression, I want to share my opinion about Flower Over Boys from time to time. I watched the Taiwanese version then the manga and then one by one of the remake version even though I have known about the story plot and the ending still I am so curious how these dramas copied and differed from one to another. To be honest, aside the Taiwanese adaptation(2001) and Japanese version (2005), other remakes really disappointed but why I still watch them?

My reason to like the story because the character of Domyoji Tsukasa and Makino Tsukushi as the first couple and Mimasaka Akira and Matsuoka Yuri (Tsukushi’s best friend). But above all, I like the most, friendship that F4 shown. As commoner, I can say I really hate F4 as bullier group but at the same time I have soft spot for these four boys. Because through F4, we also ‘served’ to see the reality that really happened in our society. When one or group is stronger than other, then the weaker should find the way to survive in order not ‘being eaten’. No matter how develop today’s world, we should admit that we are still living in the world in which dog eats dog.

Aside the harsh reality, the only thing that I learned from F4, the friendship of these four boys. They are connected, they supports each others and of course they also fight but it would only make their bond go deeper and tighten.

Touch the heart by words