Drama

1st Impression Chinese Drama: Hidden Love (偷偷藏不住)

Finally, Hidden Love is airing!

Hidden Love is a drama that adapted from novel written by Zhu Yi which also has made into Manhua and Donghua (animation version). You also can hear the audio book version in ximalaya.

I have been waiting this drama for super long time, and yes finally it’s aired yesterday. To be honest, I have certain level expectation on this drama because I really like the novel and also the manhua. Here I share my impression after watching first four episodes ^^

Story plot

To my surprised the drama story plot really sticking very close to the novel. Just alike the manhua and also the novel, the story is started when teenager Sang Zhi recalled her meeting with Duan Jia Xu when she was in middle school. That time she was only 14 years old teenager, their meeting begin when she mistaken him as his brother whom she thought to have plastic surgery after many months didn’t go home.

As I said, four episodes are freshly watched by me yesterday and I have super good impression about the drama story plot.

Actors, Actresses and Acting

This is another surprised I felt when watching Zhao Lu Si played as Sang Zhi and Chen Zhe Yuan as Duan Jia Xu. Honestly, when I knew they cast Chen Zhe Yuan as Duan Jia Xu, I was little bit doubted because I imagined Duan Jia Xu should be someone who has 190cm height, sleek body shape. Again, the cast surprise me. Chen Zhe Yuan did very good job to portray Duan Jia Xu, this character. Beside the way how they styled Chen Zhe Yuan vibe to be similar with manhua Duan Jia Xu, I really like the way Chen Zhe Yuan smile in this drama, such Duan Jia Xu vibe according to me.

On the contrary the moment when the production announced Zhao Lu Si would play as Shang Zhi, nothing to be surprised because Zhao Lu Si indeed fit the character. Zhao Lu Si has cute and sweet image as actress and for more than dozen her dramas, she has played many these typical characters. Rather than talk about Zhao Lu Si acting as Shang Zhi, I feel more interested with the younger actress who played middle school Sang Zhi, the actress is Zhang Xi Wei.

About the chemistry, since it stills so early, I haven’t felt it. Yet, I really like the way the child actress acting. I like the chemistry little Sang Zhi interacted with Duan Jia Xu. This is one of good thing, the production side didn’t let Zhao Lu Si to play 14 years little girl but they really used child actress to play it (not alike Zhang Zi Yi in The Rebel Princess). I still can accept Zhao Lu Si played as High school student because it still fits her.

After watching first four episodes, I really look forward more episodes and at the same time, my expectation for this drama has grown higher. I enjoyed watching the drama. I hope the drama would stick close till the end. About the pace, the drama has quite fast pace yet I don’t have problem with the way they film the drama because I still get to watch every chapters important points such as the first meeting between Sang Zhi and Duan Jia Xu, then the scene when Duan Jia Xu pretended to be Sang Zhi’s older brother to come to see her homeroom teacher, when she get bullied by the high schooler, tricked by her own friend, the scene when Duan Jia Xu and her brother came to give the lesson to the bulliers. School sport festival moment, etc.

To sum it up, this drama is doing very good so far and I wish they would stick as close as the novel and please don’t add much fillers story. I quite satisfied with the drama after watching 4 episodes.

Have you watched it? Please share your thoughts in comment box if yes ^.~

 

 

One thought on “1st Impression Chinese Drama: Hidden Love (偷偷藏不住)

  1. Great review. I had finished the drama. Binged watch it within a few days 🥰 Love their interactions and how they slowly move into the relationship. The brother can be annoying but it also shows his deep love for the sister. My fav part of course is the sweet proposal ending. Not forgetting to mention how protective the brother and his friends were when she got bullied when he was in high school. Now… time to go look for the novel to read 😂

Touch the heart by words