Beauty

Review: Hatomugi Skin Conditioner

I’ve known Hatomugi Skin Conditioner years ago when my sister who living in Japan introduced this product together with Albion Skin Conditioner that super expensive for my pocket. I was curious but not directly purchased because the price cost double from it original price when converted into IDR after calculated the shipping cost and tax which made me to consider whether it worth or not.

Then the chance finally came, there were few sellers selling this product in market place. Although it was still considered expensive but acceptable (after all they imported it directly from Japan). My first bottle was purchased in 2018. To be honest, I was little bit hesitated to make this post since there are many beauty bloggers as well vloggers have made the review. Yet, I found, no one really shared the detail about this product works, the pros and cons when it used together with other brands or same brands in line.

Therefore, I decided to share my experience when using this product for years now. The things that I likes and dislikes, the changes and the way how I used this product whether single use or together with other brands.

So, here I start it!

Product description and claims

  • Coix seed extract helps moisturize and take care for skin, especially good for dry or flaky skin.
  • With no-greasy formula, you can apply with large amount, brings you the feeling of freshness and relaxing after use.
  • Improve visible pores, makes skin bright and smooth.
  • No parabens, no coloring, no mineral oil included, safe for your skin.

Product Claims:

  • Brightening / whitening
  • Soothing
  • Tighten pores
  • Smooth skin surface
  • Normalize the turn over cycle of skin cells
  • Reduce spots, blemishes and aging skin
  • Help in acne and wart conditions
  • Repair the sunburned skin
  • Tone the skin
  • Freshen the skin

Product texture
The texture of this product is water like with milky color, no scent, absorb very fast and feels refreshing and not sticky at all.

How to use:
This product is one of multipurpose stuff in my opinion because it can be used in face as toner, mist, mask and even body as moisturizer. Some people even suggest to keep the product in refrigerator in other to get cool sensation whenever want to use it.

My two cents

Within these few years, I have tried to use Hatomugi Skin conditioner in many ways such as face mist, face toner, mask essence, body care. But the best among, I still prefer to use it as face toner. I took three months to use Hatomugi as the only skin care product as toner after cleansing my face and occasionally as face mist. To be honest, Within first month, nothing changed in my skin except, I just felt refreshing sensation on my skin when used it. There was no brightening effect or making my skin smooth.

Three months using it regularly, I could feel my skin slightly plump and less redness but not much. Then I took another three months to add serum in my skin care regime. I could feel, Hatomugi Skin conditioner is working best when combined it with other product than used it alone, especially when using skin care with BHA or AHA ingredients, Hatomugi does help as soothing for my skin. In my case, I have such worse relationship with Salicyclic Acid thus whenever I used something with Salicyclic Acid, it might irritate my skin and Hatomugi has a function as soothing.

Using Hatomugi as mask essence, personally I feel it wasteful because I didn’t see the different whether it used as toner or mask essence. After all, it only refreshed the skin.

As body care, it is also wasteful because I have extreme dry skin. It totally doesn’t help.

My likes:

  • The product is almost no scent, doesn’t have sticky feeling on skin
  • The price is affordable (presently it only cost about IDR 85,000 or less than $7)
  • Only available in one size 500ml but always comes with one 10ml spray bottle
  • It doesn’t cause any skin problem since the first day using it

My dislikes:

  • It has ugly bottle design made from plastic
  • Along the claims, it is only proven two or three that work on me

According to me, this product works in all skin types, included the sensitive skin. In the past, it has contained alcohol, but the new version has improved by making it into alcohol free. So, it becomes safer little bit. Again, if you are someone aware with parabens, I don’t suggest this product because it has contained Methylparaben (but really so small amount), after all Methylparaben is the most used ingredient in cosmetic and skincare products. 

 

Touch the heart by words